美国大使2019年国际人权日声明

维吾尔语版本

藏语版

作为美国驻中华人民共和国的大使,我很荣幸庆祝联合国通过《世界人权宣言》71周年。联合国大会于1948年通过的该宣言声明:所有人都有思想、宗教或信仰、表达、和平集会和结社的自由权利以及其他权利。中国签署了该重要文件,即承诺要保护该宣言所列之权利。近期的揭露令人质疑北京对这些非常基本的权利的承诺。

过去一年,我在这里的交流接触中持续地见证中国在诸多领域上的进展,包括成功提高中国人民的生活水平。但我也目睹了中华人民共和国的治理模式在保护同样这些人民的基本自由权上的失败,这些基本自由权在《世界人权宣言》与中国自身法律里有明文规定。特朗普总统、彭斯副总统和蓬佩奥国务卿已多次表达我们想与中国有个具建设性且以成果为导向的关系,但他们同时也直截了当地指出这些失败和当今在中国持续发生的诸多侵害行为。

我们对中国政府非法关押律师、记者和公民社会领袖依然感到严重忧虑。我们也对政府进一步收紧宗教或信仰自由深感忧虑,敬拜场所被关闭,有信仰的人被关押,包括许多基督徒和藏传佛教徒。我们对中国当局以打击恐怖主义和暴力极端主义为名义,对穆斯林少数民族成员的虐待感到尤其焦虑。超过一百万名维吾尔人和其他少数族群的成员在新疆遭强迫关押,这点已经无可否认。另外很明显地,这些恶行,包括大规模的安全控制与监视、强迫劳动、对宗教表达的全面打压,甚至是大规模搜集DNA,正在针对维吾尔的民族和宗教认同。中国当局只要无法信守其捍卫个人人权和自由权承诺的一天,就不能期待得到国际上的尊重。

在中国欲在世界舞台上更加活跃的同时,我们将持续以高标准要求中国当局。人权无国界,因为人权的普世设计是为了保护全人类的个人权利。中国的世界影响力继续增加的同时,中国当局如何保护在中国的人的权利就变得比过去更加重要。中国当局对在中国的人的基本自由权保护将对世界对其在海外企图的看法产生深刻影响,会继续影响美中双边关系。美国人了解这其中讽刺之处,举例来说,在美国的中国外交官随时可利用美国社交媒体向美国公众传达信息 —享受我们在美国珍视的自由–  但这些社交媒体平台以及我们公布的信息在中国这里却遭到审查。有机会直接与中国人民沟通,就好像中国外交官被允许可以和美国人民沟通一样,能增进相互理解,尤其是在这个非常重要的议题上。

U.S. Ambassador Statement on International Human Rights Day 2019

Eleanor Roosevelt holding poster of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (in English), Lake Success, New York. November 1949.

Uighur Version

Tibetan Version

As U.S. Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China, it is my honor to mark the 71st anniversary of the UN’s adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The Declaration, which the UN General Assembly adopted in 1948, proclaims, among other rights, that all individuals have the right to freedoms of thought, religion or belief, expression, peaceful assembly, and association.  By signing this important document, China committed to protect the rights outlined in the Declaration.  Recent revelations have called into question Beijing’s commitments to these very basic rights.

In my engagement here over the past year, I have continued to witness China’s progress in many areas, including its success in lifting the living standards of the Chinese people.  But I have also witnessed the failure of the PRC’s governance model to protect the fundamental freedoms of these same people, as stipulated in the Declaration and in the PRC’s own laws. While President Trump, Vice President Pence, and Secretary Pompeo have repeatedly expressed our interest in a constructive and results-oriented relationship with China, they have also been forthright about these failures and the many ongoing abuses occurring in China today.

We remain gravely concerned with the Chinese government’s unlawful detention of lawyers, journalists, and civil society leaders. We also remain deeply concerned by the government’s further tightening on the freedom of religion or belief, with places of worship being closed and people of faith being detained, including many Christians and Tibetan Buddhists. We are particularly disturbed by the PRC’s mistreatment of members of Muslim minority groups in the name of combatting terrorism and violent extremism.  It can no longer be denied that more than one million Uighurs and members of other minority groups have been detained in Xinjiang against their will.  It is also evident that these egregious actions, including extensive security controls and surveillance, forced labor, blanket suppression of religious expression, and even the mass collection of DNA, are targeting Uighurs’ ethnic and religious identities.  The PRC cannot expect to earn the international respect it seeks as long as it fails to abide by its commitment to defend individual human rights and freedoms.

We will continue to hold the PRC to high standards as it seeks to become more active on the world stage.  Human rights have no national boundaries because they are universally designed to protect individual rights of all human beings.  As the PRC’s influence in the world continues to grow, how it protects the rights of those in China matters more than ever.  Its protection of the fundamental freedoms of those in China will profoundly influence how the world views the PRC’s aspirations beyond its borders.  It will also continue to impact the bilateral U.S.-PRC relationship. The irony is not lost on Americans, for example, that Chinese diplomats in the United States readily use U.S. social media to address the American public – enjoying the freedom we hold dear in America– while those social media platforms, as well as our postings in PRC media, are censored here in China.  Having the opportunity to communicate directly to the Chinese people, the same way Chinese diplomats are allowed to communicate to the American people, can only result in greater mutual understanding, particularly on this very important issue.