摘译:美国——引领全球健康安全的共同行动

美国国务院

发言人办公室

华盛顿哥伦比亚特区(Washington, D.C.)

2020年 11月19 日 

简报 

为配合美国政府出席2020年11月18-20日泰国政府主办的全球健康安全议程(Global Health Security Agenda)部长级会议,现发布以下简报: 

美国——引领全球健康安全的共同行动 

“时不我待,必须制止目前的全球疫情,努力消除美国和世界各地人民面临的危险。”——国务卿迈克尔·蓬佩奥(Secretary Michael R. Pompeo) 

50多年来,美国始终是对全球健康安全和人道主义援助贡献最大的捐助国。美国进行了数十年的努力,设法改善全球从源头控制疫情并最大限度地减轻疫情影响的能力。在这个问题上,我们将继续发挥领导者、伙伴方和倡导者的作用。我们已将持续参与全球健康安全作为我们国家安全政策的基石,例如自2014年来已投入10多亿美元支持与伙伴国家根据全球健康安全议程进行双边努力。为了迎接11月18-20日泰国政府主办的全球健康安全议程部长级会议,美国继续强调全球健康安全议程进行的努力为应对当前的COVID-19冠状病毒疫情和今后的防范工作发挥了重要作用。 

全球健康安全议程最初于2014年启动,2018年得到美国和其他成员国的再次确认;全球健康安全议程一如既往作为透明和负责任的全球参与的光辉典范,要求全世界获得安全和保障,防范传染性疾病的威胁,不论属于自然发生的现象,还是偶发事件或有意制造的行为。全球健康安全议程除建立宏大的目标,为交流信息提供平台外,还通过东道国政府和各捐助方伙伴的投入,在国家一级建设迅速和有效地预防、监测和应对疫情的能力。美国作为全球健康安全议程69个成员国之一,始终是坚守承诺的领导者——目前已投入4.28亿美元,用于增强和维持伙伴国家的防范工作,支持全球健康安全的目标和宗旨。作为这项承诺的工作之一,美国与19个伙伴国家密切合作——并与其他国家以更具有针对性的方式——从源头对传染性疾病的威胁采取预防、监测和应对措施。 

美国支持全球健康安全议程2024年的目标,通过双边伙伴国家的投入和多边努力,为全球健康安全采取全世界统一的步调。全球健康安全议程2024年行动目标(GHSA 2024 Initiative Target)要求在2024年前完成100多个国家的健康安全能力评估,在至少5个对各自防范工作产生积极影响的技术性领域有取得进展的表现。 

根据美国全球健康安全战略(United States Global Health Security Strategy),本届政府强烈支持以全球健康安全议程作为一个机制,为有效地解决传染性疾病构成的威胁加速取得进展。我们坚持要求通过跨越边界和部门的合作,在国家一级推动全面执行国际健康条例(International Health Regulations)的努力。更重要的是,我们通过全球健康安全议程建立的伙伴关系已经并继续为防范和应对当前的COVID-19冠状病毒疫情奠定基础,并帮助各国更广泛地解决传染性疾病构成的威胁。现已取得的进展包括: 

跨地区事务: 

  • 美国政府的投入提供技术性援助,为发现人体-动物界面的新型呼吸系统病毒实施和开发分子测定。这些努力支持相关的能力建设,目的在于发现流感和冠状病毒等从动物向人体传播的病毒。
  • 目前在众多美国全球健康安全议程伙伴国家实施的风险传播项目支持国家的健康事务传播项目,适时向公众发布公共健康信息和专为护理人员提供的信息。
  • 美国政府的投入已在亚洲和非洲各地超过15个国家增强了公众健康和兽医实验室的能力,有助于改善监测和应对致命的人畜共患疾病(从动物向人体传播的疾病)的工作,例如狂犬病、炭疽病、埃博拉以及COVID-19新型冠状病毒疾病等。
  • 美国政府支持的同一健康人力(One Health Workforce)工程与非洲和东南亚的同一健康大学网络合作,支持9个全球健康安全议程密集支援国家(GHSA Intensive Support)内58所大学的人力发展工作:喀麦隆、科特迪瓦、埃塞俄比亚、印度尼西亚、肯尼亚、塞内加尔、坦桑尼亚、乌干达和越南。
  • 美国政府的全球健康安全议程投入以10年来为全球流感监测进行的投入为基础,同时加强了亚洲和非洲国家对流感疫情进行例行监测和迅速应对的能力。这方面的能力巩固了世界卫生组织流感监测和应对系统(WHO Global Influenza Surveillance and Response System)。该系统位于全球防范和应对流感的第一线,目前正为抗击当前的COVID-19新型冠状病毒疫情发挥作用。
  • 美国政府在人力发展方面的投入已为发展一支训练有素的公众健康和动物健康专业队伍,一旦出现疫情征兆,就可召之即来。在全球健康安全议程伙伴国家内,完成人力发展项目的人员正为从源头遏制疫情做出贡献。
  • 数十年来美国与刚果民主共和国在健康领域相互合作,与刚果民主共和国卫生部等方面密切协同,加强地方卫生系统从源头预防、监测和应对传染性疾病的能力。我们是刚果民主共和国为结束2018-2020年该国东部严重埃博拉疫情进行努力的主要合作伙伴——全世界有史以来名列第二的重大疫情,也是第一次在正发生冲突的地区爆发的疫情。尽管存在病毒从刚果民主共和国跨越边界向相邻的乌干达传播的巨大危险,乌干达政府在美国政府提供的合作和支持下,迅速发现和控制了埃博拉病毒的输入性病例。2020年6月1日,刚果民主共和国宣布新的埃博拉疫情爆发,美国迅速派遣卫生专家协助控制疫情,并与相邻的国家加强预防,防范可能的跨边界传播。完成美国支持的实地流行病学训练项目(Field Epidemiology Training Program)的学员为全国应对和病例调查发挥了不可或缺的作用。

* * * *

详情见我部发表的2019年全球健康安全议程年度报告(2019 GHSA Annual Report)。

The United States – Leading Collective Action in Global Health Security

FACT SHEET

OFFICE OF THE SPOKESPERSON

NOVEMBER 19, 2020

The Fact Sheet below was released in conjunction with the United States Government’s participation in the Global Health Security Agenda (GHSA) Ministerial Meetings hosted by Government of Thailand on November 18-20, 2020:

The United States – Leading Collective Action in Global Health Security

“Now is the time to solve this global pandemic and work to take down risks to Americans and people all across the world.” – Secretary Michael R. Pompeo

For over 50 years the United States has been the largest contributor to global health security and humanitarian assistance.  The United States has worked for decades to improve global capacity to contain outbreaks at their source and minimize their impact, and we will remain a leader, partner, and advocate on this issue.  We have made sustained engagements in global health security a cornerstone of our national security policy, including investing over $1 billion since 2014 to support bilateral work with partner nations under the Global Health Security Agenda (GHSA).  In recognition of the November 18-20 GHSA Ministerial Meeting hosted by the Government of Thailand, the United States continues to highlight the critical importance of GHSA work in responding to the current COVID-19 pandemic and addressing preparedness in the future.

GHSA was first launched in 2014 and re-affirmed in 2018 by the United States and other member countries; and it remains a premier model of transparent and accountable global engagement, seeking to achieve a world safe and secure from infectious disease threats, whether naturally occurring, accidental, or deliberately released.  In addition to setting bold targets and providing a forum for information sharing, GHSA leverages host government and donor partner investments to build country-level capacity to prevent, detect, and respond rapidly and effectively to outbreaks.  As one of 69 GHSA member countries, the United States remains a committed leader—currently investing $428 million to strengthen and sustain partner country preparedness in support of GHSA targets and goals.  As part of this commitment, the United States works with 19 partner countries in an intensive fashion—as well as with other nations in a more targeted manner — to prevent, detect, and respond to infectious disease threats at their source.

The United States supports the GHSA 2024 target through bilateral partner country investments and multilateral efforts that seek to unify the world’s approach to global health security.  The GHSA 2024 Initiative Target aims for more than 100 countries to complete an evaluation of health security capacity and demonstrate improvements in at least five technical areas that positively impact their preparedness by 2024. 

As outlined in the United States Global Health Security Strategy, the Administration strongly supports GHSA as a mechanism to accelerate progress toward effectively addressing infectious disease threats.  We are committed to advancing the full implementation of the International Health Regulations at the country level by collaborating across borders and sectors.  Importantly, our partnerships through GHSA have and continue to build foundations to prepare for and respond to the current COVID-19 pandemic and help countries more broadly address infectious disease threats.  These successes include: 

Across regions:

  • U.S. government investments have supported technical assistance in the implementation and development of molecular assays to detect emerging respiratory viruses at the human-animal interface. These efforts support capacity building that detects animal-to-human transmission of viruses like influenza and coronaviruses.
  • Risk communication programs, active in many U.S. GHSA partner countries, support national health communication programs to disseminate appropriate public health messages to the general population and specialized messages to health care workers.
  • U.S. government investments have strengthened public and veterinary health laboratories in more than 15 countries across Asia and Africa, helping to improve the detection and response to deadly zoonotic diseases (which spillover from animals to people) such as rabies, anthrax, Ebola, as well as novel viruses such as COVID-19.
  • The U.S. government-supported One Health Workforce project in partnership with One Health university networks in Africa and Southeast Asia supports workforce development in 58 universities across nine GHSA Intensive Support countries: Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Kenya, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda, and Vietnam.
  • U.S. government GHSA investments have built on a decade of investments in influenza surveillance globally, by also strengthening the capacity of Asian and African countries to routinely detect and rapidly respond to influenza outbreaks. This capacity has buttressed the WHO Global Influenza Surveillance and Response System that is the frontline of global influenza preparedness and response, which is now helping address the present COVID-19 pandemic.
  • U.S. government investments in workforce development have contributed to the development of a cadre of trained public and animal health professionals ready to mobilize quickly at the sign of an outbreak. Within GHSA partner countries, graduates of workforce development programs are helping contain outbreaks at their source.
  • The United States has collaborated with the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) on health for decades, working tightly with the DRC Ministry of Health and others to strengthen local health systems to prevent, detect, and respond to infectious diseases at their source. We were the DRC’s principal partner in ending its 2018-2020 devastating Ebola outbreak in eastern DRC—the second largest in world history and first-ever in an active conflict zone. Despite substantial risk of cross-border transmission from the DRC to neighboring Uganda, the Ugandan government swiftly identified and contained imported Ebola cases with U.S. government partnership and support.  When the DRC announced a new Ebola outbreak on June 1, 2020, the United States quickly deployed health experts to help contain the outbreak and work with neighboring countries to enhance preparedness efforts for potential cross-border spread.  Graduates from the U.S.-supported Field Epidemiology Training Program played an integral role in the national response and case investigations.

 ******

 Read more about our 2019 GHSA Annual Report here.