副总统迈克·彭斯及夫人卡伦·彭斯就前总统乔治·赫伯特·沃克·布什去世发表声明

白宫
新闻秘书办公室
华盛顿哥伦比亚特区(Washington, D.C.)

2018年12月1日

副总统迈克·彭斯及夫人卡伦·彭斯就前总统乔治·赫伯特·沃克·布什去世发表声明

“卡伦和我惊悉乔治·赫伯特·沃克·布什(George Herbert Walker Bush)总统去世,为此万分悲痛。我们向布什全体家庭成员表示最深切的慰唁。布什总统挚爱家人,热爱这个国家,他一生做出的贡献为美利坚合众国(United States of America)创下了不世之功。

从第二次世界大战(WWII)开始,他作为海军飞行员服役,完成了58次飞行作战任务,曾在太平洋(Pacific)海域被击落。乔治·赫伯特·沃克·布什一贯听从召唤为美国服务。

他多年在国会(Congress)工作,曾历任外交官、中央情报局(CIA)局长和美国副总统,一贯为人谦和,廉洁公正,充满爱国精神。他在担任美国第41任总统期间,促进了美国和全世界的和平、繁荣与安全。

值此悲痛时刻,我们为布什全体家庭成员祈祷,并致以最深切的慰唁。我们与他们和美国人民一起对这个善良和伟大的人物去世表示哀悼。他的榜样将永远激励人心。他一生做出的贡献将永远铭刻在美国人民的心中。上帝保佑乔治·赫伯特·沃克·布什。”

阅读更多:

Vice President Pence and Second Lady Statement on the Passing of Former President George H.W. Bush

Statement from Vice President Mike Pence and Second Lady Karen Pence on the Passing of Former President George H.W. Bush

“Karen and I were saddened to learn of the passing of President George H.W. Bush and we send our deepest sympathies to the entire Bush family. President Bush loved his family, loved this country and his legacy will be a lifetime of service to the United States of America.

Beginning with his service as a Naval Aviator in WWII, where he flew 58 combat missions and was shot down over the Pacific, George H. W. Bush always answered the call to serve America.

His years in Congress, as a diplomat, CIA Director and Vice President of the United States were characterized by modesty, integrity, and patriotism. His years as the 41st President of the United States left America and the world more peaceful, prosperous and secure.

During this difficult time, we send our prayers and deepest condolences to the entire Bush family. We join them and the American people in mourning the passing of this good and great man. His example will always inspire and his lifetime of service will be enshrined in the hearts of the American people forever. God Bless President George H.W. Bush.”

Read more: