发言人希瑟∙诺尔特谈本届政府在联大的优先事项

(AP Photo/Richard Drew)

希瑟∙诺尔特
发言人
国务部新闻发布会
华盛顿DC
2018年9月20日

我想要用一点时间让各位了解一下本届政府在今年联大的优先事项,这些事项可以归为五大主题。优先事项中的第一项是着手应对大规模杀伤性武器带来的全球性威胁。这种威胁包括化学武器、生物武器、核武器及弹道导弹的扩散。总统意在就此问题主持一场联合国安理会会议,各位可以期待在整个高级别会议周及之后在这一主题上都会有相当多关于北朝鲜、伊朗和叙利亚的讨论。

美国会利用联大高级别会议周来强调世界各地的人道主义危机,并鼓励所有国家进一步支持人道主义响应还有粮食安全。美国相信联合国成员国可以开展更多努力来着手应对和平与安全面临的威胁,特别是全球毒品问题。这是总统、第一夫人、国务卿,以及其他人一定会在这一周的早些时候强调的。
同时美国还将继续强调全球性倡议,来击败威胁美国及其利益的ISIS、基地组织和其他恐怖组织。我们将比去年更强烈地呼吁成员国支持有意义且持久的改革来确保联合国有效、高效,且负责任地服务于其成员利益。

Spokesperson Heather Nauert on the Administration’s UNGA Priorities

(AP Photo/Richard Drew)

Heather Nauert
Spokesperson
Department Press Briefing
Washington, DC
September 20, 2018

I thought I’d take a few moments to give you a sense of the administration’s priorities for this year’s UNGA, and they fall within five overarching themes. First among the priorities is addressing the global threat posed by weapons of mass destruction. That includes the proliferation of chemical, biological, and nuclear weapons, as well as ballistic missiles. The President intends to chair a UN Security Council meeting on that issue, and you can expect considerable discussion of North Korea, Iran, and Syria in this category throughout High-Level Week and beyond.

The United States will use UNGA High-Level Week to highlight humanitarian crises around the world and to encourage all nations to do more to support humanitarian response and also food security. The United States believes UN member-states can do more to address threats to peace and security, in particular the world drug problem. That’s something that the President, the First Lady, and the Secretary and others will certainly be highlighting in the early part of the week.

The United States will continue to emphasize also global initiatives to defeat ISIS, al-Qaida, and other terror groups that threaten America and its interests. We will reinforce last year’s call for member-states to support meaningful and lasting reform to ensure that the UN is serving the interests of its membership effectively, efficiently, and accountably.