讲话:全美检察长协会冬季会议上的讲话

讲话
克尔斯滕∙D∙麦迪逊
国际麻醉品与执法事务局助理国务卿

华盛顿DC
2019年3月6日

________________________________________

我们都痛苦地意识到我国阿片类药物危机的毁灭性影响。从这个角度来看:在70年代海洛因危机的高峰时期以及80年代末期/ 90年代初可卡因危机爆发时,我们在一年内大约3,000至4,000名美国人因使用过量而死亡。2017年,有70,000多例致命的毒品使用过量,其中三分之二与阿片类药物有关,特别是芬太尼。

如你们听到特朗普总统所说的,大部分阿片类药物来自中国——这也是为什么总统亲自敦促他的对口官员与我们合作以制止这种致命的浪潮。习主席作出了承诺——现在我们在努力让他的政府信守诺言。

随着来自中国的芬太尼混入毒品供应,犯罪分子不仅显著增加了利润,而且还增加了能力。

下周,我将率领美国代表团——一个成员广泛的联邦团队——前往维也纳的麻醉药品委员会,在那里我们将致力于确保对致命合成物的更多国际控制,塑造国际毒品政策的未来,并聚集伙伴以帮助我们压缩毒品贩运者在全球范围内活动的空间。

今天的毒品危机因全球化和新技术而强化,与之前的威胁不可同日而语。越来越多地,合成物正在暗网上出售,并用匿名加密货币支付。它们通过邮寄或托运被运送到美国的小城镇。这是一个易于获得和分散的致命的供应链。这种动态威胁意味着我们需要以创新的方式与全球志同道合的伙伴合作。

Speeches: Remarks at the National Association of Attorney’s General Winter Meeting

Remarks
Kirsten D. Madison
Assistant Secretary, Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs
Washington, DC

March 6, 2019

We are all painfully aware of the devastating impact of the opioids crisis in our country. To put it into perspective: at the peak of the ‘70s heroin crisis and the late ‘80s/early ‘90s crack cocaine crisis, we were losing approximately 3,000 to 4,000 Americans in a year to overdose deaths. In 2017, there were over 70,000 fatal drug overdoses, with two thirds of those linked to opioids, particularly fentanyl.

As you heard from President Trump, most of the opioids are coming from China — which is why the President has personally pressed his Chinese counterpart to work with us to stem this deadly tide. President Xi has made the commitment – now we are engaged in the effort to hold his government to it.

With fentanyl from China mixed into the drug supply, criminals have not only significantly increased profits, but also potency.

Next week, I will lead the U.S. delegation –a broad federal team — to the Commission on Narcotic Drugs in Vienna where we will be working to secure more international controls of deadly synthetics, shaping the future of international drug policy, and gathering partners to help us narrow the space in which drug traffickers operate globally.

Today’s drug crisis, turbocharged by globalization and new technology, is not like the threats of old. Increasingly, synthetics are being sold on the dark net and paid for with anonymizing crypto currencies. They are dropped in the mail or consignment shipped into the small towns of America. It is a perniciously accessible and diffuse supply chain. This dynamic threat means that we need to work in innovative ways with like-minded partners across the globe.