301条款简报

根据特朗普总统(President Trump)的一项备忘录,2017年8月18日,美国贸易代表(U.S. Trade Representative)基于1974年《贸易法第301条款》(Section 301 of the Trade Act),启动了针对中国政府与技术转让、知识财产和创新相关的行动、政策和措施的调查。

在特朗普总统的领导下,美国致力于重新平衡美中贸易关系,使贸易更加公平和互利。在经过多年成果甚微而且承诺得不到中国遵守的美中对话以后,美国正在采取行动,针锋相对地应对中国国家主导、扭曲市场的强迫性技术转让,知识财产做法和对美国商业网的网际入侵。

我们的目的是处理中国不公平的经济行为问题,创造公平竞争环境,从而让所有美国人有更好的机会取得成功。

  1. 《301条款》调查
  • 基于1974年《贸易法第301条款》,美国贸易代表启动调查,以确定中国与技术转让、知识财产和创新有关的行动、政策和措施是否不合理,不公正,或具有歧视性并对美国商务造成负担或限制。
  • 美国贸易代表在2017年10月10日举行了公听会,与私人行业咨询委员会进行了磋商,开展了两轮公众书面评论期,收到了贸易协会、美国公司和雇员、学术界、智囊机构和律师事务所提交的大约70份书面反应。
  • 经过对已有证据的充分分析,美国贸易代表在跨机构《301条款》委员会的协助下得出结论,结论显示,中国政府有关技术转让、知识财产和创新的行动、政策和措施是不合理或歧视性的,并且给美国商业造成负担或限制。

o 中国通过实行对合资企业的要求,对外国投资的限制,以及行政审议和发放许可程序,迫使或强迫美国公司提供技术转让。

o 中国通过歧视性的发放许可程序使技术从美国公司转到中国公司。

o 中国指示和辅助投资及收购,形成大规模技术转让。

o中国从事和支持对美国电脑网络的网际入侵,旨在获取重要商业情报。

  • 据由专题专家和经济学家组成的一个跨机构小组估计,中国的政策导致美国经济每年损失至少500亿美元。
  1. 301条款应对行动
  • 总统于2018年3月22日签署备忘录,指示本届政府对中国为获取美国技术采取的不公平和有害的行动、政策和措施采取一系列对应行动。

o 世界贸易组织投诉案:根据总统指示,美国贸易代表将据理力争,通过世界贸易组织争端解决机制投诉中国歧视性的技术许可证制度。

o 25%从价关税:美国贸易代表拟对某些中国产品加征额外关税,按每年与美国经济因中国不公平政策造成的损失相当的贸易额计算。拟加征关税的产品清单包括航天、信息和通讯技术及机械产品。

o 投资限制:总统还指示本届政府对中国以获得美国关键技术为目标的投资采取应对行动。有关各部及机构将与财政部协同,针对中国涉及获取敏感技术的投资行为拟定相关措施。

  1. 关税行动程序
  • 2018年3月22日,总统备忘录指示美国贸易代表在15天内公布拟加征额外关税的产品清单。

o 美国贸易代表计划7天内公布拟订的清单。

o 清单将发表在联邦公报(Federal Register)公告栏,就拟订的关税行动征求公众意见,有效期为自清单公布之日起30天。公告还将宣布举行公开听证会的日期。

o 美国贸易代表将在跨机构的《301条款》委员会协助下,对公众意见进行审议和分析。

o 上述程序一旦完成,美国贸易代表将宣布关税行动的最后决定,同时在联邦公报上公布产品清单。

Section 301 Fact Sheet

Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
Executive Office of the President
Washington, D.C.
March 22, 2018

Section 301 Fact Sheet

Following a Memorandum from President Trump, on August 18, 2017, the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) initiated an investigation under Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974 into the government of China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation.

Under President Trump’s leadership, the United States is committed to rebalancing the U.S.-China trade relationship to achieve more fair and reciprocal trade. After years of U.S.-China dialogues that produced minimal results and commitments that China did not honor, the United States is taking action to confront China over its state-led, market-distorting forced technology transfers, intellectual property practices, and cyber intrusions of U.S. commercial networks.

The goal is to address unfair Chinese economic practices and create a level playing field that will give all Americans a better chance to succeed.

  1. SECTION 301 INVESTIGATION
  • Under Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974, USTR initiated an investigation to determine whether China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation are unreasonable, unjustifiable, or discriminatory and burden or restrict U.S. commerce.
  • USTR held a public hearing on October 10, 2017, consulted with private sector advisory committees, initiated two rounds of public written comment periods, and received approximately 70 written submissions from trade associations, U.S. companies and workers, academics, think tanks, and law firms.
  • Following a thorough analysis of available evidence, USTR, with the assistance of the interagency Section 301 committee, prepared findings showing that the acts, policies, and practices of the Chinese government related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation are unreasonable or discriminatory and burden or restrict U.S. commerce.

o China uses joint venture requirements, foreign investment restrictions, and administrative review and licensing processes to force or pressure technology transfers from American companies.

o China uses discriminatory licensing processes to transfer technologies from U.S. companies to Chinese companies.

o China directs and facilitates investments and acquisitions which generate large-scale technology transfer.

o China conducts and supports cyber intrusions into U.S. computer networks to gain access to valuable business information.

  • An interagency team of subject matter experts and economists estimates that China’s policies result in harm to the U.S. economy of at least $50 billion per year.
  1. SECTION 301 RESPONSES
  • In a Memorandum signed on March 22, 2018, the President has directed his Administration to take a range of actions responding to China’s acts, policies, and practices involving the unfair and harmful acquisition of U.S. technology.

o WTO Case: At the direction of the President, USTR will confront China’s discriminatory technology licensing practices through a World Trade Organization (WTO) dispute.

o 25 Percent Ad Valorem Duties: USTR will propose additional tariffs on certain products of China, with an annual trade value commensurate with the harm caused to the U.S. economy resulting from China’s unfair policies. The proposed product list subject to the tariffs will include aerospace, information and communication technology, and machinery.

o Investment Restrictions: The President also has directed his Administration to respond to Chinese investment aimed at obtaining key U.S. technologies. Relevant departments and agencies will work with the Treasury Department to propose measures addressing China’s investment practices involving the acquisition of sensitive technologies.

  1. PROCESS FOR TARIFF ACTION 
  • The March 22, 2018, Presidential Memorandum instructs USTR to publish a proposed list of products subject to additional tariffs within 15 days.

o USTR plans to announce the proposed list within the next several days.

o The list will be set out in a Federal Register notice seeking public comments on the proposed tariff action. Comments will be due 30 days from publication. The notice will also announce a date for a public hearing.

o USTR, with the assistance of the interagency Section 301 Committee, will review and analyze the comments.

o When the process is completed, USTR will announce the final determination on the tariff action, and will publish the product list in the Federal Register.