摘译国务卿讲话:与佩特·蒙多晨间秀的佩特·蒙多的采访

采访
迈克尔·R·蓬佩奥
国务卿
通过电话会议

2018年11月21日

问题很高兴您接受采访。我们表示感谢。让我们首先来谈一谈关于卡舒吉之死的情况。总统出来表态;他因为对此事的处理遭到了一些批评。他说这都是为了“美国优先”这一政策。在共和党内似乎有一些反对意见,林赛·格雷厄姆还有其他一些人说至少我们必须要考虑一下制裁。您认为在有了中情局的报告之后,怎样才是处理沙特一事的最佳方式?

蓬佩奥国务卿:我们一直是非常明确的。我们会追究那些进行了这起谋杀的人的责任。我们已经这样做了。我们已经制裁了17个人 ,他们中的一些人在沙特政府中有非常高的职位。我们要确保美国总是支持人权。我们也看到了在我们的任期内,沙特确实朝着这一方向努力。虽然不是毫无瑕疵的记录,但是肯定是取得了进展的。

而且特朗普总统从他开始竞选时就清楚地表明,对他而言最重要的是确保美国是成功的,并且确保我们保护了美国人民。沙特阿拉伯王国一直是美国一个重要的国家安全伙伴,它与伊朗凶残的政权对抗,而该政权真正对美国人民构成切实的风险。我们决心确保美国和沙特之间保持强有力的关系,这样我们才能够保护美国。

问题:迈克尔·蓬佩奥国务卿今天在KCMO广播电台调频710参加我们的节目,佩特·蒙多(Pete Mundo)为您主持。国务卿先生,让我们谈谈北朝鲜。很显然,现在流传着一些关于2019年年初可能进行会面—金正恩和特朗普总统之间的又一次峰会—的说法。我们在这一关系中处于什么位置以及这两个国家之间的下一步可能是什么?

蓬佩奥国务卿:这是特朗普总统外交政策议程中非常重要的一部分。我们上任时美国人民面临的最大风险之一就是北朝鲜发射会对美国造成极大破坏的导弹的能力。我们现在已经让北朝鲜人不进行导弹试验了。他们已经很长时间没有进行过核试验了。我们继续与他们进行谈判,让他们实施金委员长—我有机会多次与他会面—让金委员长完成他做出的承诺:北朝鲜完全的、经核实的无核化。这将对美国、对该地区都是好事,对北朝鲜人民来说也是极好的,我确实希望在2019年初双方领导人之间将举行一次峰会。

Excerpts from Secretary’s Remarks: Interview With Pete Mundo of the Pete Mundo Morning Show

Interview
Michael R. Pompeo
Secretary of State
Via Teleconference

November 21, 2018

QUESTION: Good to have you on. We appreciate it. Well, let’s start off with what’s going on here with the Khashoggi murder. President comes out; he’s received some criticism for his handling of this. He said it’s all about an “America first” policy. There appears to be some pushback in the Republican Party, Lindsey Graham and some others saying at the very least we have to look into sanctions. What do you think the best way to handle the Saudis in the wake of this CIA report as well?

SECRETARY POMPEO: Well, we’ve been very clear. We’re going to hold those who conducted this murder accountable. We’ve already done so. We’ve sanctioned 17 people, some of them very senior in the Saudi government. We are going to make sure that America always stands for human rights. We’ve watched the Saudis actually move in that direction during our time in office as well. It’s not an unblemished record, but there certainly have been steps forward.

And President Trump has made clear since he began to run for office that the most important thing for him was to ensure that America was successful and that we protected the American people. And the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has been an important national security partner to the United States, pushing back against the murderous regime in Iran that actually presents real risk to the American people, and we are determined to make sure that the relationship between the United States and Saudi Arabia stays strong so that we can protect America.

QUESTION: Secretary of State Mike Pompeo joining us here on 710 KCMO. Pete Mundo with you. Mr. Secretary, let’s dive into North Korea. Obviously, some rumblings about maybe an early-2019 meeting, another summit between Kim Jong-un and President Trump. Where do we stand on that relationship and what might be next between these two countries?

SECRETARY POMPEO: This has been an incredibly important part of President Trump’s foreign policy agenda. Among the greatest risks to the American people when we took office was the capacity of North Korea to fire missiles that would be incredibly destructive to the United States. We now have got the North Koreans not conducting missile tests. They’ve not conducted a nuclear test in a long time. We continue to negotiate with them to get them to implement what Chairman Kim, who I’ve had the chance to meet with on a number of occasions, to get Chairman Kim to complete the commitment that he made to fully and verifiably denuclearize North Korea. This would be great for America, great for the region, and wonderful for the North Korean people as well, and I do hope that there’ll be a summit between the two leaders early in 2019.