摘译:国务卿蓬佩奥媒体讲话, 2018年9月14日

周三,特朗普总统签署了一项行政令,该行政令明确表示我们的政府不会容忍外国干涉我们的民主程序。选举是我们民主的基础,保护选举廉正关乎保卫主权和美国的国家安全……正如该行政令所明示,如果俄罗斯或任何其他外国政府,抑或是代表它们行事的人士干涉美国选举,他们将会立即面临严重的后果。该项行政令规定,对被认定参与过选举干涉的外国人士采取强制性制裁。它还针对有可能破坏或干涉我国经济的行为规定了额外的措施。如果某国的政府批准、指示、资助或支持了选举干涉,我们会对其予以追究。

国务部将继续与其他机构密切合作,来识别和揭露针对美国选举的外国干涉—无论干涉发起者是哪个实体。我们还将继续与我们在世界各地的伙伴合作,抵御这些对民主的威胁—无论它们在哪里、以何种方式露出苗头。

昨天是非常好的一天,是令人骄傲的一天。经过参议院的确认,特朗普总统向我们的四位官员授予了职业大使的职位—国务部最优秀的四位:Philip Goldberg、David Hale、负责政治事务的我的副国务卿Michele Sison,以及 Dan Smith。

这是外事勤务中级别最高、最富声望的职位。他们都应倍感骄傲。我知道我为他们感到骄傲。美国人民也应该为能有Philip Goldberg、David Hale、Michele Sison,和 Dan Smith 代表我们的国家而感到骄傲。通过多年的服务,他们都证明了他们出色的外交技巧和领导风范是我们格外需要的,并且他们正在履行职责。同时,他们也是一种激励。他们是了不起的领导者。我代表我所有国务部的同事向他们表示祝贺。

俄罗斯已然试图通过进行语言上的修改来积极企图破坏联合国安理会决议以及联合国负责评估制裁合规情况的1718委员会的工作。我希望1718委员会能秉承其历史一贯做法—保持独立,实事求是地报告事实,并且不允许某一国家—此处即俄罗斯—单独起草文字进行插入修改。我希望委员会能发布他们本来意图发布的原始文件,因为它显示了与制裁和违反制裁相关的明确活动。这十分重要。确定下来的制裁时间支撑的不是美国的制裁,而是全世界通过联合国安理会实施的制裁。

你的问题还要更宽泛一些。美国一如既往地致力于继续执行那些联合国安理会决议。我们相信这些决议对于特朗普总统的努力是至关重要的—即说服金委员长韩朝半岛的完全、最终无核化是必要的,并且其实现方式需要让世界可以看到:金委员长对于他将如何为北朝鲜人民提供一个更好的未来的核心理解已经发生了这样的战略性转变。金委员长在新加坡峰会上这样 说过,同时我们仍在继续与朝鲜进行多次对话,讨论如何做到履行在新加坡峰会期间作出的所有承诺。

Secretary’s Remarks to the Media (Excerpts), September 14, 2018

Remarks
Michael R. Pompeo
Secretary of State
Press Briefing Room
Washington, DC

September 14, 2018

SECRETARY POMPEO: On Wednesday, President Trump signed an executive order that made clear that our administration will not tolerate foreign interference in our democratic processes. Elections are the foundation of our democracy, and preserving their integrity is a matter of protecting sovereignty and American national security… As this executive order makes clear, if Russia or any other foreign government or persons acting on their behalf interfere in the United States election, there will be swift and severe consequences. The order provides for mandatory sanctions against foreign persons determined to have participated in interference in our elections. It also provides for additional measures that could be capable of devastating or interfering in our country’s economy. And if the government of that country authorized, directed, or sponsored, or supported election interference, we’re going to come after them.

The State Department will continue to work closely with other agencies to identify, expose – and expose foreign interference directed against American elections, no matter which entity initiated it. We’ll also continue to work with our partners around the world to stand against these threats to democracy wherever – and however – they rear their head.

Yesterday was a great day. It was a proud day. After Senate confirmation, President Trump conferred on four of our officers the position of Career Ambassador. Four of the State Department’s finest: Philip Goldberg, David Hale, my Under Secretary for Political Affairs Michele Sison, and Dan Smith.

This is the highest and most prestigious rank at the Foreign Service. They should all be very proud. I know I’m proud of them. The American people too should be proud of Phil, David, Michele, and Dan representing our country. They have all proven over many years of service that their outstanding diplomatic skills and leadership qualities are much needed and that they are delivering. They’re an inspiration, too. They’re great leaders. I congratulate them all on behalf of the all of my State Department colleagues.

Russia has actively attempted to undermine the UN Security Council resolutions, the work of the 1718 Committee, the committee at the UN that evaluates compliance with sanctions, by attempting to change the language there. I hope that the 1718 Committee will do what it has historically done – remain independent and report on the facts as they know it and not allow a single country, in this case Russia, to draft language and have it inserted. I hope they will publish the original document that they intended to publish, which shows – it shows clear activities related to sanctions and sanctions violations. It’s important; it’s the date set that underlays not American sanctions but the world’s sanctions from the UN Security Council.

Your question was broader than just that. The United States is as committed as ever to continuing to enforce those UN Security Council resolutions. We believe they are central to President Trump’s efforts to convince Chairman Kim that full, final denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula is necessary and that it needs to be done in a way that the world can see that there’s been this strategic change in Chairman Kim’s core understanding of how he will provide a better future for the North Korean people. He said it at the summit in Singapore and we are still continuing to have many conversations with the DPRK about how to effectuate achieving all the commitments that were made during the Singapore summit.