蓬佩奥国务卿在纽约就特朗普总统联合国大会议程的讲话

美国人期望美国在世界舞台上坚持体现我们价值观的大胆领导。而在特朗普总统的领导下,我们无疑正在发挥带头作用。

今天上午的第一场会议就清楚地表明了这一点。在该会议上,我们发出了关于世界毒品问题的全球行动(Global Action for the World Drug Problem)呼吁,毒品贩运、毒品生产和药物滥用的祸害正在全球范围内加剧。在美国,特朗普总统正在领导一场大规模的有效反击。现在是每个国家效仿我们做法的时候了。

……

当然,这一对主权的强调是特朗普总统去年向大会发表讲话的主题。这个主题将在他明天的演讲中延续,同时他将回顾他对各国各尽其职的呼吁在过去一年中如何为美国和全世界带来回报。

例如,特朗普总统的领导,再加上各国努力执行施压运动,已经缓解了与北朝鲜的紧张局面,使我们更接近我们的最终目标:金委员长同意的朝鲜最终、经完全核实的去核化。

文总统与金委员长上个星期的峰会又向前迈出了积极的一步,但特朗普总统仍然坚定不移:现在不是减轻压力的时候。

正如你们所听说的那样,特朗普总统周三将在安全理事会上讨论防扩散的威胁,以及负责任的国家有必要停止武器和技术的扩散。

这一会议的主题将包括北朝鲜、叙利亚和伊朗。相信特朗普总统将对伊朗政权发表其应得的强硬言论,伊朗政权是严重违反联合国安理会决议的国家之一,甚至可能是最差的。他将呼吁各国加入我们的施压运动,以挫败伊朗在全球连续不断的破坏性活动。

无论是委内瑞拉、南苏丹、叙利亚、缅甸、中国,估计有250万受害者—抱歉,全球2500万现代奴隶制的受害者同样可以依靠美国的支持。今天将成为非常棒的首日。本周还有更多工作要做。

特朗普总统和我们的全体外交使团期待与我们的外国对应官员一起努力实现各方的共同胜利。

Secretary Pompeo’s Remarks on the President’s Agenda at the UN General Assembly, New York

Americans expect the United States to assert bold leadership on the world stage that reflects our values.  And under President Trump, we are certainly leading from the front.

This was clear from just the first meeting this morning, in which we issued a call for Global Action for the World Drug Problem, the scourge of drug trafficking, narcotics production, and substance abuse is intensifying on a global scale.  Within the United States, President Trump is leading a massive and effective counterattack against it.  It’s now time for every country to follow our lead.

This emphasis on sovereignty was, of course, the theme of President Trump’s speech to the General Assembly last year.  That theme will endure in his speech tomorrow, along with a recap about how his call for every nation to do its part has paid dividends for the United States and the world over this past year.

For example, President Trump’s leadership, combined with efforts of countries to enforce the pressure campaign, has deescalated tensions with North Korea and brought us closer to our final goal: the final, fully verified denuclearization of the DRPK, as agreed to by Chairman Kim Jong Un.

Last week’s summit between President Moon and Chairman Kim yielded another positive step forward, but the President remains resolute: Now is the not the time to ease pressure.

And as you’ve heard too, President Trump will address the threat of nonproliferation at the Security Council, on Wednesday, and the need for responsible nations to stop the spread of weapons and technologies.

Among the topics that meeting will cover are North Korea, Syria, and Iran.  You can bet the President will have well-deserved strong words for the Iranian regime, which is among the worst of violators of U.N. Security Council resolutions, if not the absolute worst in the world.  He’ll call on every country to join our pressure campaign in order to thwart Iran’s global torrent of destructive activity.

Whether it’s Venezuela, South Sudan, Syria, Burma, China, the estimated 2.5 million victim — excuse me, 25 million victims of modern slavery around the world can also count on America’s support.  Today is shaping up as a great first day.  Lots more work to come this week.

President Trump and our entire diplomatic corps look forward to the days with our foreign counterparts as we work on achieving shared victories for all.