蓬佩奥国务卿和马蒂斯部长:美印2 + 2对话闭幕致辞摘录

新德里, 印度
2018年9月6日

蓬佩奥国务卿:

这是我作为国务卿首次访问印度,我很荣幸能来到这里参加如此重要和成功的活动。今天晚些时候,马蒂斯部长和我将与莫迪总理会面。我们期待着讨论如何最好地推进美印关系,在他和特朗普总统领导下,这一关系正处于新增长时代。

今天的2 + 2会议象征着我们日益密切的伙伴关系。我们就我们的双边关系、共同的未来以及我们如何合作以促进一个自由、开放的印太地区进行了许多富有成效和前瞻性的对话。

作为世界上最大的两个民主国家,美国和印度共同的价值观将我们紧紧地联系在一起。 我们有责任推动反映这些价值观的一个自由和开放的印太地区:法治、国家主权、良好的治理、对基本自由和权利的保护; 自由、公平和对等的贸易关系; 以及和平解决领土和海洋争端。

……

在经济问题上,特朗普总统认识到印度经济在这个世界上最具活力、发展最快的地区中发挥着富有成效作用的长期战略重要性。 他专注于确保美国、印度和所有国家能负责任地通过公平贸易和投资从一个开放、自由的印太地区获益。

作为特朗普总统承诺的一个例证,最近仅在几周前,商务部长宣布了印度的“战略贸易授权”一类地位。这将进一步促进美国对印度的高科技出口。 美国将继续与印度和这一地区所有其他国家实行伙伴关系经济。我们致力于释放我们的私营部门无与伦比的潜力,以满足这一地区发展、能源和基础设施的需求,并创造一个企业和国家在遵守规则时能蓬勃发展的环境。

马蒂斯部长:

自从印度1947年独立以来,我们两国共同对自由有着基本的尊重和热爱。印度独立仅仅3年后,尼赫鲁总理访问了美国—我引用他的话—“踏上了发现美国思想和心灵的旅程”。今天,蓬佩奥国务卿和我带着近70年前尼赫鲁总理访问华盛顿时同样的精神,促进我们两国热切盼望的合作。正如你们刚刚所听到的那样,今天这一成功和极富成效的会议,即我们两国的第一次部长级2 + 2会议,进一步加强了我们牢固的国防关系。 我们重申了对彼此主权的最高尊重,并致力于共同努力建立一个以法治支撑的安全、有保障、繁荣和自由的印太地区。

我们赞赏印度作为该地区地理前线的稳定力量的角色。你们国家比许多国家都更了解,和平与繁荣只有在所有人都尊重领土完整、航行自由、免于强迫的原则时才能实现。所有这些对基于规则的秩序都至关重要。借用莫迪总理的话,只有这样,国家无论大小,才能在他们自由而无所畏惧的选择下繁荣兴旺。我们将继续共同努力加强和扩大印度作为首要防御伙伴的角色,将我们的关系提升到与我们最亲密的盟友和伙伴关系相称的水平。今天,正如你们所知,我们通过签署《通信兼容与安全协议》迈出了实现这一目标的重要一步。这一具有里程碑意义的协议加深了我们两军之间的合作以及我们共享最先进防御技术的能力,使我们双方更加强大。

Secretary Pompeo and Secretary Mattis: Excerpts from Closing Remarks at the U.S.-India 2+2 Dialogue

New Delhi, India
September 6, 2018

SECRETARY POMPEO:

This is my first trip to India as Secretary of State, and it is an honor to travel here for such an important and successful event. Later today, Secretary Mattis and I will meet with Prime Minister Modi. We look forward to discussing how best to advance the U.S.-India relationship, one that is in a new era of growth under his leadership and that of President Trump.

Today’s 2+2 meeting is symbolic of our increasingly close partnership. We had many productive and forward-thinking conversations on our bilateral relationship, our shared future, and how we can cooperate in promoting a free and open Indo-Pacific.

As the two largest democracies in the world, the United States and India are deeply bound by our shared values. We have a responsibility to advance a free and open Indo-Pacific that reflects those values: the rule of law; national sovereignty; good governance; the protection of fundamental freedoms, rights, and liberties; free, fair, and reciprocal trade relationships; and peaceful resolutions of territorial and maritime disputes.

On economic matters, President Trump recognizes the long-term strategic importance of India’s economy playing a productive role in the world’s most dynamic and fastest-growing region. He is intent on ensuring the United States, India, and all countries can responsibly reap the benefits of an Indo-Pacific that is open, free with fair trade and investment.

As just one example of President Trump’s commitment, Secretary of Commerce recently announced Strategic Trade Authorization Tier-1 status for India just a few weeks ago. This will further facilitate high-technology exports from the United States to India. The United States will continue to practice partnership economics with India and all the other countries in the region. We seek to unlock the unparalleled potential of our private sectors to meet the region’s developmental, energy and infrastructure needs, and to create an environment in which businesses and countries can thrive when they play by the rules.

SECRETARY MATTIS:

Since India gained its independence in 1947, our nations have shared a fundamental respect and love of freedom. Just three years after India’s independence, Prime Minister Nehru visited the United States – in his words, and I quote – “On a voyage of discovery of the mind and heart of America.” Today, Secretary Pompeo and I bring the same spirit that Prime Minister Nehru carried to Washington almost 70 years ago, promoting the cooperation which both our countries earnestly desire. Today’s successful and highly productive meeting, the first ever 2+2 between our nations at the ministerial level, has further bolstered our strong defense relationship, as you just heard. We reiterated our highest respect for each other’s sovereignty and committed to work together for a safe, secure, prosperous and free Indo-Pacific, one that is underpinned by the rule of law.

We appreciate India’s role as a stabilizing force on the region’s geographic front lines. Your nation understands better than many peace and prosperity are only attainable when all respect the principles of territorial integrity, freedom of navigation, freedom from coercion. All of these are fundamental to the rules-based order. Only then, to borrow Prime Minister Modi’s words, can nations small and large prosper free and fearless in their choices. We will continue working together to enhance and expand India’s role as a primary major defense partner, to elevate our relationship to a level commensurate with our closest allies and partners. Today we took, as you know, a significant step towards that goal by signing the Communications Compatibility and Security Agreement. The landmark agreement deepens our military-to-military cooperation and our ability to share the most advanced defense technology, making us both stronger.