国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥与中国国务委员兼外交部长王毅新闻发布会

美国国务部
发言人办公室
华盛顿哥伦比亚特区
2018年5月23日

讲话

国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥与中国国务委员兼外交部长王毅

新闻发布会

本·富兰克林厅(Ben Franklin Room)

国务卿蓬佩奥:各位下午好。我今天很高兴在华盛顿(Washington)接待国务委员兼外交部长王毅,作为国务卿举行第一次会谈。谢谢你。很高兴见到你。

众所周知,总统和本届政府要求与中国发展建设性的、注重成果的关系。我很高兴听到王国务委员说,北京也有同样的目标。我们进行了很好的会谈。

我们谈到为总统于6月 12日会见金正恩(Kim Jong-un)的准备工作。我有机会听取中国的看法,赞赏他们对美国、朝鲜民主主义人民共和国(DPRK)和全世界面临的这次机会发表的观点。

我们讨论了我们坚持对北韩施加压力的做法,继续要求全面执行联合国安理会(UN Security Council)有关北韩的各项决议,直至我们看见朝鲜半岛(Korean Peninsula)以完全、可核实及不可逆转的方式实现去核化。我们今天强调,我们继续期待所有的国家,包括中国,履行各自的义务,全面执行相关措施。

中国、美国、韩国、日本——我们都全面承诺,如果平壤(Pyongyang)愿意实现去核化,将为DPRK实现光明的未来。在这个时刻到来之前,压力将继续实施。我强调总统的坚定决心,要求保障平衡和公平的贸易和投资关系。我们知道有关的讨论正在进行。我们的贸易团队将继续就这些对于我们两国都十分重要的问题定期接触。

我还提出我们对南中国海(South China Sea)军事化的关注。我们进行了良好的讨论。我们在与中国的关系方面还有其他的重要事务,例如防止阿片从中国流入美国,保护美国的知识产权,倡导人权和宗教自由等。

我们进行了很好的讨论,都希望我们两国能够发展良好关系,像我们两位领导人所做的那样,从而我们可以共同为我们两国完成一些大有裨益的工作。我期待在不太遥远的将来前往北京访问,继续我们今天进行的讨论。

Remarks With Chinese Foreign Minister and State Councilor Wang Yi at a Press Availability

SECRETARY POMPEO: Good afternoon. I’m pleased today to host State Councilor and Foreign Minister Wang Yi here in Washington for my first meeting with[1] the Secretary of State. Thank you. It’s wonderful to see you.

As you know, the President and this administration is committed to a constructive, results-oriented relationship with China, and I am glad to hear from State Councilor Wang that Beijing shares those goals. We had a great meeting.

We talked about preparations for the President’s June 12th meeting with Kim Jong-un. I had a chance to hear China’s perspective and appreciated their observations on the opportunity that is before the United States, the DPRK, and the world.

We discussed our firm commitment to maintain pressure on North Korea and to continue fully enforcing all relevant UN Security Council resolutions related to North Korea until we see and achieve the complete, verifiable, and irreversible denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula. We confirm today that we continue to expect all countries, including China, will meet their obligations and fully implement those measures.

China, the United States, the South Koreans, Japan – we are all fully committed to a bright future for the DPRK if Pyongyang is willing to denuclearize. Until that time arrives, the pressure will continue. I emphasized the President’s firm determination to secure a balanced and fair trade and investment relationship. We know that the discussions are ongoing. Our trade teams will continue their regular engagements on these very important matters to each of our two countries.

I also raised our concerns about the militarization of the South China Sea. We had a good discussion. We have other important priorities in our relationship with China as well, such as stopping the flow of opioids coming from China into the United States, protecting American intellectual property, and upholding human rights and religious freedom.

We had a wonderful discussion, where we hope that our two countries can build an excellent relationship, the same way that our two leaders have done, so that we can achieve great things for our two countries together. I look forward to traveling to visit with you in Beijing in the not-too-distant future and to continue the discussions that we had today.