特朗普总统在会见金英哲后发表讲话

AP Images

白宫
新闻秘书办公室
即时发布
2018年6月1日

特朗普总统在会见朝鲜民主主义人民共和国劳动党中央委员会副委员长金英哲后发表讲话

南草坪

美国东部夏令时间下午2:41

总统:这次会见情况十分良好。我们预定6月12日在新加坡会晤。会见十分良好,的确是一次“初步了解”的机会。

迈克(Mike)已经花了两天的时间进行这项工作。我们必须很好地了解他们的人员。我们将——你们需要前往新加坡,因为你们要在6月12日到那里。

我认为,这需要有一个过程,并非——我从未说过一次会谈就行了。我认为这将有一个过程。但是相互关系正在建立,这是一个十分积极的事态。

问:总统先生,你感觉北韩在去核化问题上愿意做些什么?他们是否想一次性解决问题?

总统:好的,我认为他们希望这样做。我知道他们希望这样做。他们希望今后可以因此得到其他东西。他们希望作为一个国家得到发展。情况将会如此。我对此毫无疑问。你们都知道,日本也参与其中。韩国的参与程度很高。为了解决所有的问题,我们参与此事。各方面都需要美国。所以,我们将为这个过程积极提供帮助。没有我们的参与, 事情就无法得到解决。

但我想,你们可以发现很多积极的迹象,其中也涉及中国。我想你们已经看到与习主席有关的积极事态。他在这方面为我提供了很多帮助。所以。我们将注意事态将如何发展。

我们将在——6月12日,我们将在新加坡。这是一个开端。我没有说过,从来没有说过一次会谈就可以解决问题。你们谈到多年的敌对状态;多年存在的问题;多年来如此众多的不同国家间真正的仇恨。但我认为你们最终将看到十分积极的结果。并非来自一次会谈,而是你们将看到一个十分积极的——

问:你上星期给金正恩的信似乎对他们的诚意表示质疑。他们现在是否已经充分做到了?你是否相信他们有诚意?

总统:我的信是对他们来信的反应。媒体都忽视了这一点。你们知道,媒体都说,“哦,你决定会晤,然后又取消了。”我并没有取消会谈。我针对一项十分强硬的声明取消会谈。我认为,对此我们已经翻过这一页——完全翻过去了。现在我们将着手进行,我们将真正开始一个过程。

我们将在 6月 12日会见委员长。我认为这可能是一个十分成功的——最终是一个成功的过程。我们将拭目以待。

请不要忘记我说的话:我们将对今后的事态拭目以待。但是我认为这将是我们应该经历的一个过程。我的意思是,我们的确应该——他们希望如此。我们认为,这一点很重要。我认为,我们如果不这样做,就会犯一个很大的错误。我认为,我们将建立一种关系,从6月12日开始。

问:你们通过一次会谈能做些什么?你们在6月12日能做些什么?你为什么认为他们对去核化采取开放态度?

总统:这次会见情况很好。不要忘记,我在这次会见期间收到金正恩的一封信。这封信很不错。对了,你们是否想知道这封信的内容?你们是否想看看?

问:你能告诉我们吗?

总统:那么,想知道多少?多少?多少?

问:能不能告诉我们这封信所说的大概内容?

总统:哦,这封信很有意思。在某种程度上,我可能——这封信可能很恰如其分,我有可能给你们看看。你们有可能看这封信,可能很快。

但是,递交这封信实际上成为历时两个小时的会见。

问:先生,为什么时间这么长?

总统:因为我们发现整个主题很有意思。因为我的确认为他们希望能做些什么。如果有可能的话,我们也是如此。

问:他问你什么(听不清)?

总统:我认为我们所有需要做的是,6月12日到那里去。我们将拭目以待。迈克处理得很好。他们与我们的国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Mike Pompeo)建立了很好的关系。这实际上很有意思,因为这次会见原来是为了递交一封信,最后成为与北韩第二位权力最大的人物进行了两个小时的交谈。

问:他是否提出有关驻韩军队数量的任何问题?

总统:我们谈到了几乎所有的问题。我们谈了很多。我们谈到了制裁。

问:(听不清)与金正恩?

总统:我不想谈这些。

问:他们是否同意CVID(完全、可核实的、不可逆转的去核化),先生?

总统:我们谈到了很多问题。我们的确如此。但是最重要的是6月12日的会谈。再说一遍,这是一个过程。这不会——我们不会签署——我们不会在6月12日到那里签署任何文件,我们从来不会如此。我们将开始一个过程。我今天告诉他们,“不要着急。我们可以快一些,也可以慢一些。”但是我认为,他们希望看到某些情况发生。我们如果能够设法做到的话,就是一件好事。但是这个过程将于6月12日在新加坡开始。

问:你是否相信金有意实现去核化?

总统:是的,我认为如此。他希望看到此事能够实现。他希望谨慎从事。他希望成为,你们知道——他不会仓促行事。但我告诉他,Chi坦白地说,请注意,我们已经实施了制裁;这些制裁有很大的威力。除非他们做到这一点,否则我们不会撤销制裁。但是制裁很有威力。你们已经看到在其他方面产生了多大的威力。你们将看到,制裁对伊朗会产生多大的威力。你们会看到对伊朗产生的效果。

所以,我们实施了制裁。在某一个时刻,我会告诉你们,我期待有一天我可以撤销对北韩的制裁。

问:你今天是否谈到人权问题?你是否准备提出这个问题——

总统:我们没有谈到人权问题,没有。

问:你是否准备在6月12日提出这个问题?

总统:有可能,是的,有可能。我认为我们将有可能,有可能详细谈谈。这一次我们没有谈到人权问题。

问:你是否谈到制裁问题?他们是否要求你做出任何改变?

总统:是的,我们谈了。我们谈到这个问题。是的,他们提出制裁的问题。

问:先生,最大程度施加压力的行动是否已经结束?

总统:请再说一遍?

问:先生,最大程度施加压力的行动是否已经结束?

总统:现在这方面的行动将维持下去。我甚至不再想用“最大程度的压力”这个说法,因为我不想用这个说法,因为我们正在进行交往。你们可以看见这种关系。我们正在进行交往。

所以,这不是施加最大压力的问题,而是基本上保持原状。希望到某一个时刻,达成一份协议——为了数百万人的利益,能够设法达成一份协议。

问:总统先生,你在今天的会见后,怎样形容美国和北韩关系的现状?

总统:我认为关系可以。我的意思是,我认为关系良好。它能与我们同其他一些国家的关系同日而语吗?大概不能。对吧?但我认为我们目前与北韩的关系是长期以来最好的。

前任政府时期不存在任何关系。什么都没有。没有任何东西。他们解释,那就是“什么都没有”。什么都没做。

嗨,各位,这本不应由我来做。它早就应该得到处理。它到了一个非常危急的关头。这本应在许多年前就得到处理——不仅应该由欧巴马总统(President Obama),而且应该由在我之前的其他总统。这不应该是现在做的事,应该是在多年前做的事。

问:你打算在6月12日首脑会晤时向北韩提出给予经济援助的问题吗?

总统:那将会由韩国提供。不,我不认为美国必须花费。我认为韩国会做。我认为中国——我认为,坦率说,中国会给予帮助。

我认为日本会给予帮助。不,我不认为美国将花费大量资金。你们知道,我们有三名人质。我为这些人质花了多少钱?

而且,你看,我们距离很远。我们距离很远。那些地方非常接近,那是它们的近邻。我们在数千——我们在6,000英里以外。我已经告诉韩国,我说,“要知道,你们必须要作好准备。”日本也是。

我认为他们的确希望看到有重大成果。日本希望,韩国希望,我认为中国希望。但那是它们的邻里;不是我们的邻里。

问:总统先生,昨天你对拉夫罗夫(Lavrov)与金正恩会晤感到担忧。

总统:是,我不喜欢那个情况。

问:你今天怎样感觉?

总统:我不喜欢,但它也可能很有积极意义。

我不喜欢昨天的俄罗斯会晤。我说,“它有什么目的?”  但是,它可以是一个积极性的会晤。如果是积极性会晤,我喜欢。如果是消极性会晤,我不高兴。它很可能是积极性的会晤。

问:你愿意在6月12日首脑会晤时结束韩战吗?

总统:我们有可能——那有可能发生。那有可能发生。我们谈了这点。

问:给我们再详细说一些。

总统:我们谈到了结束战争。你知道,这场战争持续了——一定是最长的战争——将近70年,对吧?存在类似那种可能性。它更多是关于签署一项文件,这从一个角度说很重要。就历史而言,它很重要。但我们看吧。

我们的确讨论了这点——结束韩战。你们能相信我们在谈结束韩战吗?这说来是差不多70年。

问:做了文件准备吗?或是它正在拟定中?

总统:我们将在会晤前讨论它。这有可能从会晤中产生。我认为,确实,也许会从会晤中产生某种结果。

问:中国对此如何看待?

总统:我认为中国会希望看到非常积极的结果。如你们所知,我们与习主席有很好的关系。他是一位热爱中国的人。但是,他希望做对中国最有益的事。我认为中国和习主席会非常愿意看到这里出现成果。

问:你谈到将保证金的安全和北韩政权的安全,你将怎样去做?美国将怎样去做?

总统:我们将确保其安全。我们将确保当这个结束时,就是结束,不会再重新开始。

他们有潜力成为一个伟大的国家。我认为韩国将会提供大量帮助。日本将会提供大量帮助。我认为中国将会提供大量帮助。

问:但你看到这会怎样落实呢?

总统:坦率说,这是个很复杂的问题。但经过一段时间你会看到。

问:去年11月你在首尔(Seoul)发表讲话时谈到,如果北韩选择加入国际社会将会有光明前景。但是,如果你让金继续当政,你真的能够实现那种转变吗?

总统:我的确认为能够。而且我认为会很成功。他们是了不起的人民。我认为会有巨大成功。所以让我们拭目以待。

但是,我们将与你们——我们将与你们在6月12日见面,但我肯定我们会稍早于那之前见到你们。眼下,萨拉(Sarah)怎样?好吗?(笑声)

问:你们谈到过第二轮或第三轮首脑会晤日期吗?

总统:哪一个?

问:你们讨论了第二或第三次会晤日期吗?

总统:我告诉他们,我认为你们很可能还要有其他会晤。嗨,如果我们走出会议,一切都在坐下来几个小时后就解决了,那不是太好了?不,我不认为会出现那种情况。但我认为会经过一段时间。

坦率说,我说,“慢慢来。慢慢来。将保持原样,但慢慢来。”

有一件事我确实做了,而且非常重要,那就是,我们有数百项可以启动的新制裁。他没有——主任没有问,但我说我将暂停启动,除非当会谈破裂。

我们现在有非常重大的制裁。但是我们当时有数百项——我们有数百项可以启动。但是我说,“我不启动。” 我为什么要在我们谈得这么好的时候启动?

问:这第一次会见是不是更多属于个人外交——是你的“初步了解”的一部分?

总统:我认为它是“初步了解”的会见,但更多。它可以有非常积极的作用。

问:总统先生,你对信函作出什么回应?你有回复吗?

总统:没有,我没有。我还没有看到信。我刻意没有打开信。我还没有打开。我没有在主任面前打开。

我说,“你希望我打开吗?”他说,“你可以等一下看。”各位,我可能会面对一大吃惊。(笑声)各位再会。

问:有关《北美自由贸易协定》(NAFTA)的下一步行动是什么,先生?

总统:《北美自由贸易协定》——它对美国而言是一项糟糕的协议。人们正开始看到这一点。我们每年对墨西哥的损失超过1,000亿美元。我们对加拿大的损失以很多、很多、很多个十亿美元来计算。加拿大不拿——我的意思是,他们对于进口我们的农产品以及其他产品非常有限制性。

而且,你们知道,所有这些国家,包括欧洲联盟(European Union)在内,他们征收五倍的关税。我们基本上不收关税。他们征收的关税是我们的五倍。而且我相信“互惠”(reciprocal)这个词。你们要征五倍?我们也要征五倍。这没有做到过。其他任何总统都从未提出这一点。而现在这将会做到。

因此,我们在谈判多项协议。我们在谈《北美自由贸易协定》。和你说实话,我不认为《北美自由贸易协定》——我不介意看到《北美自由贸易协定》,就此有一个不同的名称,就此分别同加拿大达成一项协议,而且分别同墨西哥达成一项协议,因为涉及的是两个非常不同的国家。

但我不介意看到分别同加拿大达成一项协议,可以说那是一类产品,并分别同墨西哥达成一项协议。

它们是两个非常不同的国家。这从第一天开始对于美国就是一项糟糕的协议。我们对加拿大损失了一大笔钱,而且我们对墨西哥也损失很大。像这样的事不会再发生。

我的意思是,墨西哥拿走了我们的汽车公司,占比很大的一部分。我们不能那么做。而且,美国工人同意我的看法。股票市场显然也同意,因为如果你们看一看股票的走势,他们开始发现我是对的。

但如果你们看一看欧盟并看到他们征收的那种关税,而我们没有,这就是所谓的“不公平贸易”。我想要公平贸易。我喜欢自由贸易,但我想要公平贸易。最起码的是,我想要公平贸易。

而且我们要为我们的工人和我们的公司企业享有它。而且你们知道吗?对方明白这一点。

实话告诉你们,他们不能相信这么多个10年以来他们一直都能这么做。

问:加拿大、英国以及我们最亲密的一些盟友正在对这些新关税大声地不断抱怨 。您对他们要说些什么?

总统:他们是我们的盟友,但他们在经济上占我们的便宜。因此我同意——我爱加拿大。我爱墨西哥。我爱他们。但墨西哥一年赚取超过1,000亿美元,而他们不帮助我们管理我们的边境,因为他们有强大的法律,而我们有糟糕的法律。我们有糟糕的边境法律。他们有强大——他们能解决我们的边境问题,如果他们想这么做,但他们不想这么做。当他们想这么做的时候,我就高兴了。

但我认为我们有一个良好的机会去达成一些极好的贸易协定,我们将使美国再度伟大。对吗?这正是我们所做的。但美国已获得——我们已实现价值大约8万亿美元,自从——你们知道,我们是中国经济规模的两倍。自从我就任总统以来,我们获得了大量价值、大量财富。超过8万亿美元。而且这是一个非常低的数字,因为我们谈的是股市财富。我所说的不止于此。

我们的公司企业情况极好,我们的情况极好,我们的军队正在重建。我们有很多非常好的进展。我们将要理顺贸易。贸易将是易行的。

而且其他国家都理解。你们知道吗,当我和他们交谈时,他们看着我——这是在不公开场合,不是对你们开放的——他们会说,“我们不相信我们这么长时间一直都能这么做。”也就是说,你们不相信你们这么长时间一直都能这么做。

问:(听不清)

总统:我希望每个人都看。因为我要告诉你们,我们有一个如此了不起的国家。目前,在这个水平,我认为我们从未达及,在一个经济的天平上——你们看一看数字:3.8%。我们的失业率是最低的——是50年来吗?我认为是50年。50年,对吗?因此,我们有最好——我们有一些作为一个国家所取得过的最好的经济数字。而且这大有助益。我们正在建设一种非常特殊的东西。请记住,我们的规模是两倍——我们的经济——是中国经济规模的两倍。

今天的会见很好。我认为这是一个极好的开端。

问:戴维营(Camp David)的议程是什么?

总统:只能轻松一点,还有大量工作。我们计划安排很多通话。我会给很多外国领导人打电话。我正在谈判贸易协定。我正在工作。我正在为你们大家努力工作。

祝你们愉快。谢谢你们。

讲话完

东部夏令时间下午2:56

Remarks by President Trump after Meeting with Vice Chairman Kim Yong Chol of the DPRK

AP Images

Remarks by President Trump after Meeting with Vice Chairman Kim Yong Chol of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

 

South Lawn

2:41 P.M. EDT

THE PRESIDENT:  The meeting went very well.  We’ll be meeting on June 12th in Singapore.  It went very well.  It’s really a get-to-know-you kind of a situation.

Mike has spent two days doing this.  We’ve gotten to know their people very well.  And we will — you people are going to have to travel because you’ll be in Singapore on June 12th.

And I think it’ll be a process.  It’s not — I never said it goes in one meeting.  I think it’s going to be a process.  But the relationships are building, and that’s a very positive thing.

Q    Mr. President, what’s your sense of what the North Koreans are willing to do on the issue of denuclearization?  Are they looking at it all at once?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, I think they want to do that.  I know they want to do that.  They want other things along the line.  They want to develop as a country.  That’s going to happen.  I have no doubt.  Japan is involved, as you know.  And South Korea is very much involved.  We’re involved in terms of getting everything.  Everybody wants the United States.  So we’re going to help in the process very much.  Without us, it wouldn’t happen.

But I think that you see a lot of very positive things, including with China.  I think you see a lot of very positive things happening with President Xi, who has helped me quite a bit with this.  So we’ll see where it leads.

But we’re going to be — June 12th, we’ll be in Singapore.  It will be a beginning.  I don’t say and I’ve never said it happens in one meeting.  You’re talking about years of hostility; years of problems; years of, really, hatred between so many different nations.  But I think you’re going to have a very positive result in the end.  Not from one meeting, but you’re going to have a very positive —

Q    You appeared to question their sincerity in your letter to Kim Jong Un last week.  Have they gone far enough now?  Do you believe they’re sincere?

THE PRESIDENT:  My letter was a response to their letter.  The media forgot that.  You know, the media said, “Oh, you had a meeting, then you cancelled.”  I didn’t cancel the meeting.  I cancelled it in response to a very tough statement.  And I think we’re over that — totally over that.  And now we’re going to deal, and we’re going to really start a process.

We’re meeting with the Chairman on June 12th.  And I think it’s probably going to be a very successful — ultimately, a successful process.  We’ll see.

Remember what I say: We will see what we will see.  But I think it’s going to be a process that we deserve to have.  I mean, we really deserve — they want it.  We think it’s important.  And I think we would be making a big mistake if we didn’t have it.  I think we’re going to have a relationship, and it will start on June 12th.

Q    What can you get done in one meeting?  What can you get done on June 12th?  And why do you think they’re open to denuclearization?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, this was a very good meeting.  Don’t forget, this was a meeting where a letter was given to me by Kim Jong Un, and that letter was a very nice letter.  Oh, would you like to see what was in that letter?  Would you like it?

Q    Can you tell us?

THE PRESIDENT:  How much?  How much?  How much?

Q    Can you just give us a flavor of what the letter said?

THE PRESIDENT:  Ah, it was a very interesting letter.  And at some point I may be — it may be appropriate, and maybe I’ll be able to give it to you.  Maybe you’ll be able to see it, and maybe fairly soon.

But really, this was a letter presentation that ended up being a two-hour conversation.

Q    Why did it end up going so long, sir?

THE PRESIDENT:  Because we found the whole subject matter very interesting.  And because I really think they want to do something.  And if it’s possible, so do we.

Q    What did he ask you (inaudible)?

THE PRESIDENT:  I think all we’re going to do is be there on June 12th, and we’re going to see what happens.  Mike has been dealing very well.  They have a very good relationship with Mike Pompeo, our Secretary of State.  It was actually very interesting because this was literally going to be the delivery of a letter, and it ended up being a two-hour conversation with the second most powerful man in North Korea.

Q    Did he ask you anything about troop levels in South Korea?

THE PRESIDENT:  We talked about almost everything.  We talked about a lot.  And we talked about sanctions.

Q    (Inaudible) with Kim Jong Un yet?

THE PRESIDENT:  I don’t want to say that.

Q    Did they agree to CVID, sir?

THE PRESIDENT:  We talked about about a lot of things.  We really did.  But the big deal will be on June 12th.  And again, it’s a process.  It doesn’t go — we’re not going to sign a — we’re not going to go in and sign something on June 12th and we never were.  We’re going to start a process.  And I told them today, “Take your time.  We can go fast.  We can go slowly.”  But I think they’d like to see something happen.  And if we can work that out, that will be good.  But the process will begin on June 12th in Singapore.

Q    Do you believe Kim is committed to denuclearization?

THE PRESIDENT:  Yeah, I do think so.  He’d like to see it happen.  He wants to be careful.  He wants to be, you know — he’s not going to run and do things.  But I told him, to be honest with you, look, we have sanctions on; they’re very powerful sanctions.  We would not take sanctions off unless they did that.  But the sanctions are very powerful.  You’ve seen how powerful in other ways.  You’re going to see how powerful sanctions are when it comes to Iran.  You see what that’s doing to Iran.

So we have sanctions on.  And at a certain point, I’ll tell you what, I look forward to the day when I can take the sanctions off of North Korea.

Q    Did you talk about human rights today?  And do you expect to talk about it on —

THE PRESIDENT:  We did not talk about human rights, no.

Q    Do you expect to talk about it on June 12th?

THE PRESIDENT:  Could be.  Yeah.  Could be.  I think we probably will, and maybe in great detail.  We did not talk about human rights.

Q    Did you talk about sanctions?  Did they ask you to make any changes?

THE PRESIDENT:  Yeah, we did.  We talked about it.  Yes, they asked about sanctions.

Q    Is maximum pressure over, sir?

THE PRESIDENT:  Excuse me?

Q    Is maximum pressure over, sir?

THE PRESIDENT:   It’s going to remain what it is now.  I don’t even want to use the term “maximum pressure” anymore because I don’t want to use that term because we’re getting along.  You see the relationship.  We’re getting along.

So it’s not a question of maximum pressure.  It’s staying essentially the way it is.  At some point, hopefully, a deal — for the good of millions of people, a deal will be worked out.

Q    Mr. President, how would you describe the state of relations now between the United States and North Korea after your meetings today?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, I think they’re okay.  I mean, I think they’re good.  Is it like the relationships we have with a couple of other countries?  Probably not.  Right?  But I think the relationship we have right now with North Korea is as good as it’s been in a long time.

They had no relationship under the previous administration.  There was nothing.  It was nothing.  They were explaining, it was just a “nothing.”  Nothing was done.

Hey, folks, this should not be up to me.  This should have been handled a long time ago.  This got to a very critical point.  This should have been handled many years ago — not only by President Obama, but by other Presidents that preceded me.  This shouldn’t be done now, this should have been done years ago.

Q    Do you plan to offer the North Koreans economic aid at the June 12th summit?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, what’s going to happen is South Korea will do that.  No, I don’t think the United States is going to have to spend.  I think South Korea will do it.  I think China — I think, frankly, China will help out.

I think that Japan will help out.  No, I don’t see the United States spending a lot of money.  You know, we have three hostages.  How much money did I spend for the hostages?

And, look, we’re very far away.  We are very far away.  Those places are very close.  It’s their neighborhood.  We’re thousands — we’re 6,000 miles away.  So I’ve already told South Korea, I said, “You know, you’re going to have to get ready.”  And Japan, also.

And I think they really want to see something great happen.  Japan does, South Korea does, and I think China does.  But that’s their neighborhood; it’s not our neighborhood.

Q    Mr. President, yesterday you were concerned about the meeting that Lavrov was having with Kim Jong Un.

THE PRESIDENT:  Yeah, I didn’t like it.

Q    Where are you on that today?

THE PRESIDENT:  I didn’t like it, but it could be very positive, too.

I didn’t like the Russian meeting yesterday.  I said, “What’s the purpose of that?”  But, it could be a positive meeting.  If it’s a positive meeting, I love it.  If it’s a negative meeting, I’m not happy.  And it could very well be a positive meeting.

Q    Are you willing to end the South Korean War on June 12th, during the summit?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, we could — that could happen.  That could happen.  We talked about it.

Q    Tell us more.

THE PRESIDENT:  We talked about ending the war.  And you know, this war has been going on — it’s got to be the longest war — almost 70 years, right?  And there is a possibility of something like that.  That’s more of a signing of a document that it’s very important in one way.  Historically, it’s very important.  But we’ll see.

And we did discuss that — the ending of the Korean War.  Can you believe that we’re talking about the ending of the Korean War?  You’re talking about 70 years.

Q    Has that document been prepared?  Or is it being prepared?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, we’re going to discuss it prior to the meeting.  That’s something that could come out of the meeting.  I think, really, there’s something that maybe could come out of the meeting.

Q    Where’s China on that?

THE PRESIDENT:  I think China would like to see a very positive result.  I have a lot of good relations with, as you know, Chairman Xi.  He’s a great — he’s really a very wonderful guy.  He’s a man that loves China.  However, he wants to do what’s best for China.  I think China and President Xi would love to see something happen here.

Q    When you say you’re going to guarantee Kim’s security, and the North Korean regime’s security, how will you do that?  How would the United States do that?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, we’re going to make sure it’s secure.  We’re going to make sure when this is over, it’s over.  It’s not going to be starting up again.

And they have a potential to be a great country.  And I think South Korea is going to help a lot.  Japan is going to help a lot.  I think China is going to help a lot.

Q    How do you envision that working, though?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, that’s a very complicated question, frankly, but you’ll see that over a period of time.

Q    When you gave your speech in Seoul last November, you talked about the bright promise if North Korea should choose to join the company of nations.  But if you leave Kim in place, can you really have a transformation like that?

THE PRESIDENT:  I really think you can.  And I think it’s going to be very successful.  They’re incredible people.  I think it’s going to be a very great success.  So we’ll see what happens.

But we’ll see you — we will see you on June 12th, but I’m sure we’ll see you a little bit before that.  In the meantime, how is Sarah doing?  Okay?  (Laughter.)

Q    Have you discussed dates for a second or a third summit?

THE PRESIDENT:  The — which one?

Q    Did you discuss dates for a second or a third meeting?

THE PRESIDENT:  I told them, I think that you’re going to have, probably, others.  Hey, wouldn’t it be wonderful if we walked out and everything was settled all of a sudden from sitting down for a couple of hours?  No, I don’t see that happening.  But I see over a period of time.

And frankly, I said, “Take your time.  Take your time.  It’s going to remain as is, but take your time.”

One thing I did do, and it was very important, we had hundreds of new sanctions ready to go on.  And he did not — the director did not ask, but I said I’m not going to put them on until such time as the talks break down.

We have very significant sanctions on now.  But we had hundreds — we have hundreds that are ready to go.  But I said, “I’m not going to.”  But why would I do that when we’re talking so nicely?

Q    Is this first meeting more of a personal diplomacy, part of your “getting to know you” —

THE PRESIDENT:  I think it’s a “getting to know you” meeting, plus.  And that can be a very positive thing.

Q    Mr. President, what was your response to the letter?  Did you send anything back?

THE PRESIDENT:  No, I didn’t.  I haven’t seen the letter yet.  I purposely didn’t open the letter.  I haven’t opened it.  I didn’t open it in front of the director.

I said, “Would you want me to open it?”  He said, “You can read it later.”  I may be in for a big surprise, folks.  (Laughter.)  So long, everybody. Q    What’s the next move on NAFTA, sir?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, NAFTA — look, it’s been a terrible deal for the United States.  People are starting to see it.  We lose over $100 billion a year with Mexico.  We lose many, many, many billions of dollars with Canada.  Canada doesn’t take — I mean, they’re very restrictive as to taking our agricultural product, and other things.

And, you know, all of these countries, including the European Union, they charge five times the tariff.  We don’t charge tariffs, essentially.  They charge five times what we charge for tariffs.  And I believe in the word “reciprocal.”  You’re going to charge five times?  We’re going to charge five times.  That hasn’t been done.  No other President ever brought it up.  And it’s going to be done now.

So we’re negotiating numerous deals.  We’re talking about NAFTA.  To be honest with you, I wouldn’t see NAFTA — I wouldn’t mind seeing NAFTA, where you’d go by a different name, where you make a separate deal with Canada and a separate deal with Mexico because you’re talking about a very different two countries.

But I wouldn’t mind seeing a separate deal with Canada, where you have one type of product, so to speak, and a separate deal with Mexico.

These are two very difficult countries.  It’s been a lousy deal for the United States from day one.  We lose a lot of money with Canada, and we lose a fortune with Mexico.  And it’s not going to happen like that anymore.

I mean, Mexico has taken our car companies, a big percentage of them.  And we can’t do that.  And, look, the American worker agrees with me.  Obviously, the stock market agrees because when you look at what’s going on with the stocks, they’re starting to see I’m right.

But if you take the European Union and you see the kind of tariff they charge, and then we don’t, that’s called, “not fair trade.”  I want fair trade.  I like free trade, but I want fair trade.  At a minimum, I want fair trade.

And we’re going to have it for our workers and for our companies.  And you know what?  The other side understands it.

To be honest with you, they cannot believe that they’ve gotten away with this for so many decades.

Q    Canada, the UK, some of our closest allies are complaining long and loud about these new tariffs.  What do you say to them?

THE PRESIDENT:  They’re our allies but they take advantage of us economically.  And so I agree — I love Canada.  I love Mexico.  I love them.  But Mexico is making over $100 billion a year and they’re not helping us with our border because they have strong laws and we have horrible laws.  We have horrible border laws.  They have strong — they could solve our border problem if they wanted, but they don’t want to.  And when they want to, then I’ll be happy.

But I think we have a good chance of doing some great trade deals, and we’ll make America great again.  Right?  That’s what we’re doing.  But America has picked up — we’ve made about $8 trillion in value since — you know, we’re double the size of the economy of China.  We’ve picked up a lot of value, a lot of wealth, since I’ve been President.  More than $8 trillion.  And that’s a very low number because we’re talking stock market wealth.  I’m talking about beyond that.

Our companies are doing great, we’re doing great, our military is rebuilding.  We have a lot of great things going.  We’re going to straighten out trade.  The trade is going to be easy.

And other countries understand.  You know, when I talk to them, they look at me — and this is in closed doors, not for you people — and they essentially say, “We can’t believe we’ve gotten away with this for so long.”  It’s like, you guys can’t believe you’ve gotten away with it for so long.

Q    (Inaudible.)

THE PRESIDENT:  I want everyone to watch.  Because I’ll tell you what, we have such a great country.  Right now, at this level, I don’t think we’ve ever been, on an economic scale — you look at the numbers: 3.8 percent.  We have the lowest numbers of unemployment that we’ve had — is it 50 years?  I think it’s 50.  Fifty years, right?  So we have the best — we have some of the best economic numbers we’ve ever had as a nation.  And that goes a long way.  And we’re building something very special.  Just remember, we’re twice the size — our economy — twice the size of China.

Good meeting today.  I think it’s a great start.

Q    What’s on the agenda for Camp David?

THE PRESIDENT:  Just a little relaxation and a lot of work.  We have a lot of calls set up.  I’m calling a lot of the foreign leaders.  I’m negotiating trade deals.  I’m working.  I’m working hard for you people.

Have a good time.  Thank you.

END

2:56 P.M. EDT