总统关于乔治·HW·布什去世的国会致辞

AP Images

致美国国会:

我谨通过这条信息,正式告知诸位美国第四十一任总统乔治·赫伯特·沃克·布什去世的消息。

乔治·H.W·布什总统的一生代表着美国真正伟大之处。正如他这一代——伟大的一代——的诸多人一样,布什总统终其漫长的一生都在无私工作,带来一个公正、持久和平的世界。在他离去之际,我们纪念美国历史上决定性篇章中的一页的落幕。

乔治·H.W·布什的一生很大一部分由全球冲突而塑造。他一成年便志愿参军,投入第二次世界大战太平洋战区的战斗。在美国海军服役期间,他英勇善战,是当时美国历史上最年轻的飞行员,曾飞过58次战斗任务,帮助赢得了来之不易而又脆弱的和平。战后不久,美国便发现自己面临新的挑战,包括一场持久的冷战以及苏联进行核毁灭的威胁。乔治·H.W·布什出于对国家的责任感,重新进入公共服务,先是任国会议员,随后是驻联合国大使、美国驻中国联络处主任、中央情报局局长、美国副总统以及美国总统。

战争时期意志坚定的布什总统在和平时期宽容大度。随着共产主义威胁的消退,他解除了美国的核轰炸机长久以来一直保持的警戒状态,并温和地鼓励摇摇欲坠的苏联发展民主与自由市场。通过这些以及其他善意的姿态,布什总统帮助胜利地结束冷战,同时帮助国家转变进入一段持续和平和繁荣的时期。

布什总统年轻时身经诸多战斗任务,其中一次,时任上尉的布什被迫从他的飞机跳伞落海。多年以后,为庆祝他在战时与和平时期均有成就的一生,布什总统再次从飞机跳伞而下——这次是架直升机——而后在他缅因州的家安全着陆。无畏、勇敢、爱冒险、不屈,历经二十世纪的起起落落,进入下一个千年,布什总统为国效力,树立了一个榜样,将激励未来数十年的几代人。

唐纳德·J.特朗普

白宫
2018年12月3日

Presidential Message to the Congress on the Death of George Herbert Walker Bush

AP Images

December 3, 2018

TO THE CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES:

By this Message, I officially inform you of the death of George Herbert Walker Bush, the forty-first President of the United States.

President George H.W. Bush led a life that exemplified what is truly great about America.  As with so many of his generation, the Greatest Generation, President Bush worked selflessly throughout his long life to bring about a world of justice and lasting peace.  With his passing, we mark one of the last pages of a defining chapter in American history.

Much of George H.W. Bush’s life was shaped by global conflict.  He began his adult life by volunteering for combat in the Pacific Theater of World War Two.  Through his heroic efforts as an aviator in the United States Navy, the youngest in United States history at the time, President Bush flew 58 combat missions, helping to win a hard-fought but fragile peace.  Shortly after the war, the Nation found itself confronted with new challenges, including a protracted Cold War and the threat of nuclear annihilation by the Soviet Union.  Propelled by his sense of duty to his Nation, George H.W. Bush re‑entered public service, first as a Member of Congress, and then as Ambassador to the United Nations, Chief of the United States Liaison Office in China, Director of Central Intelligence, Vice President, and President of the United States.

Resolute through war, President Bush was magnanimous in peace.  As the Communist threat subsided, he stood down America’s nuclear bombers from the alert posture they had maintained for so long and gently encouraged the development of democracy and free markets in the crumbling Soviet Union.  Through these and other gestures of goodwill, President Bush helped to bring the Cold War to a victorious end and to transition the country into a period of sustained peace and prosperity.

During one of his many combat missions as a young man, then-Lieutenant Bush was forced to parachute from his airplane into the ocean below.  Many years later, in celebration of a life of accomplishments in both war and peace, President Bush jumped from another aircraft — this time a helicopter — and parachuted safely onto the grounds of his home in Maine.  Fearless, courageous, adventurous, and unyielding, through the highs and lows of the twentieth century and into the next millennium, President Bush served his Nation, creating an example that will inspire generations for decades to come.

DONALD J. TRUMP

THE WHITE HOUSE,
December 3, 2018.