总统发表2019年莱麦丹斋月贺词

我向共度神圣的莱麦丹斋月(Ramadan)的所有穆斯林致以最热情问候。

莱麦丹斋月纪念神圣的《古兰经》(Quran)降示于穆罕默德(Muhammad)。在见到新月之时,穆斯林家庭和社区将通过开始一个月的内省、精神更新和祷告来致敬这一降示。

在莱麦丹斋月期间,穆斯林从黎明到黄昏把斋,诵念《古兰经》段落,并向他人行仁慈、善意之举。通过这样做,他们在自己的灵性旅程中更新了目标感,加深了他们对主的恩典和怜悯的感激之情。

在这整个月中,我们都有机会思考我们被给予了的恩惠,并为彼此间更大的友谊而努力。在一起,本着莱麦丹斋月的精神,我们可以实现一个更加和谐和充满敬意的社会。

梅拉尼亚和我一起向美国及全世界的穆斯林致以最美好的祝愿,祝他们度过一个吉庆的庆祝月。

Presidential Message on Ramadan 2019

Presidential Message on Ramadan, 2019

I send my warmest greetings to all Muslims observing the holy month of Ramadan.

Ramadan commemorates when the sacred Quran was revealed to Muhammad.  At the spotting of the crescent moon, Muslim families and communities will honor this revelation by beginning a month of inward reflection, spiritual renewal, and prayer.

During Ramadan, Muslims fast from dawn to dusk, recite passages from the Quran, and perform benevolent acts of charity and good will toward others.  By doing so, they develop a renewed sense of purpose in their own spiritual journey, deepening their appreciation for God’s grace and mercy.

Throughout this month, we all have an opportunity to reflect on the blessings we have been given and to work toward greater fellowship with one another.  Together, in the spirit of Ramadan, we can achieve a more harmonious and respectful society.

Melania joins me in sending our best wishes to Muslims in the United States and around the world for a blessed month of celebration.