关于东盟部长级会议的特别简报会摘译

副国务卿约翰·沙利文(John J. Sullivan),
代理发言人罗伯特·帕拉迪诺(Robert Palladino)
乐天纽约皇宫宾馆Lotte New York Palace Hotel)
纽约市,纽约州(New York, N.Y.)
2018年9月27日

帕拉迪诺先生:谢谢诸位莅临。今天我们很荣幸地请副国务卿约翰·沙利文为我们介绍东南亚国家联盟(Association of Southeast Asian Nations)部长级会议的情况,以及美国在该地区的重点工作。先请副国务卿沙利文发表讲话,然后我们会回答一些问题。今天的简报会可列入正式记录,不见诸于影像,简报会结束后才可对外公布。副国务卿沙利文,请。

副国务卿沙利文:谢谢罗伯特。诸位下午好。承蒙你刚才的嘉言。谢谢你们今天给我几分钟的时间谈一些情况,首先介绍我刚刚联合主持的东盟部长级会议。我们在这里举行了会议。会议以老挝外长沙伦赛(Saleumxay)为联合主席。他是负责美国事务的国家事务协调员,承担今后3年美国与东盟关系的协调工作。

我会见了东盟所有10个成员的代表。我们重申美国-东盟的战略伙伴关系,讨论了美国对印度-太平洋(Indo-Pacific)地区自由和开放的承诺。处于这个地区核心地带的东盟由拥有多样性文化的独立国家组成,冀望在自由与和平的环境下共同繁荣。

在我们举行会议期间,我强调美国坚持维护国际法的承诺,其中包括南中国海(South China Sea)的航行自由。我们还讨论了东盟为全面执行联合国安理会(UN Security Council)对北韩的各项决议进行的努力。

自美国-东盟建立伙伴关系以来的41年里,我们取得了诸多的成绩。美国-东盟峰会(U.S.-ASEAN Summit)和东亚领导人峰会(East Asia Leaders Summit)预定11月15日在新加坡举行,我们全面承诺在会议期间进一步发展相互间的伙伴关系。现在我很高兴回答诸位的问题。

帕拉迪诺先生:让我们先从布隆伯格(Bloomberg)的尼克·沃德姆斯(Nick Wadhams)开始。

:谢谢你。谢谢你,(听不清)国务卿。你能否谈谈会议室的气氛?今天安理会对于是否应该继续对北韩实施制裁或者取消制裁有很多分歧。据来自该地区的一些报道,亚洲各国都与中国有同样的看法,认为对于北韩问题应该采取逐步分期的方式,支持美国采取最大程度压力的力度正在减弱。很多国家希望有关制裁可以取消。你所接触的官员有什么想法?

副国务卿沙利文:这当然不是我今天会见的有关国家代表表达的看法。我们讨论了继续有必要执行联合国安理会各项决议。我们所说的并不是美国的意见,这些都是我们已经通过的联合国安理会决议,需要照此执行。对于我强调的立场,即世界和平、朝鲜半岛(Korean Peninsula)去核化与所有的国家——所有的国家都休戚相关,应该全面执行安理会各项决议,对这一点并没有任何分歧。

帕拉迪诺先生:让我们请路透社(Reuters)的戴维·布伦斯特伦(David Brunnstrom)提问。

问:谢谢。你能不能就时间框架说明一下情况,你们希望何时看到实现去核化?国务院发布一项声明说是2021年,但是总统昨天似乎暗示没有时间框架。是这个时间框架被取消了呢,还是仍定在2021年?

副国务卿沙利文:当然,我从与蓬佩奥国务卿(Secretary Pompeo)的谈话中知道,他正在做出人的能力所及的最大努力,连同跨部门机构的同事一道,尽快实现去核化。总统昨天的评论我认为是表示我们面临的挑战有多大。我将——总统把他对这点的想法告诉了你们,我全心全意支持。我认为那将是一个重大挑战。国务卿连同整个跨部门机构都在以最大的努力工作,以便尽快实现去核化。

问:我能就尼克的问题提个后续问题吗?

副国务卿沙利文:当然。

问:你说你听到——你说没有听到对实施现有制裁有不同意见。我的意思是,俄罗斯和中国今天在安理会会议上提出的主张之一是——嗯,尤其是俄罗斯,谈到要豁免某些南北韩双方已经同意的项目,而后中国谈到要更放宽松。

但你现在是不是说东盟国家与你们一样反对上述两点?我设想——我只是想确定——美国对上述两点均予以反对,直至出现一些实际动向或去核化,对吗?

副国务卿沙利文:当然。这个问题有两部分。我们寻求贯彻的联合国安理会决议不包含任何那些例外。我们不赞同那些。我们今天与——在东盟部长会议的讨论,我说的是我没有听到任何成员国家支持那些例外或任何例外,而这并不是说他们向我作出了肯定的声明将会反对一切。我不想替他们说话,但是在我今天共同主持的会议上没有提到那个问题。

问:谢谢。

帕拉迪诺先生:好,先生。后面那里。

问:是的。我们听到了马哈蒂尔总理(Prime Minister Mahathir)的讲话,他昨天在外交关系协会(CFR),今早在亚洲协会(Asia Society)发表讲话。关于南中国海你们对东盟国家的具体期待是什么?它们能做什么吗?

副国务卿沙利文:关于南中国海。这当然是另一个我们今天在部长会议上讨论的题目。我认为在场的成员是一致的,即所有人都承认,在南中国海存在主权争议。成员国中的每个国家以及美国正在寻求的不是由一个国家单边地而是根据国际法律的规范来解决那些主权要求的办法。

我们反对中国政府在南中国海的做法,不是因为我们认为我们要决定中国对南中国海某个具体景貌有无主权。我们希望国际法律得到遵守,通过一个和平程序,而不是一个国家的单边决定来解决那些主权要求,其中涉及数个不同国家——菲律宾、越南,等等,马来西亚。

问:但是有许多不同意见。东盟国家之间对中国没有共识。你看到有那种动向吗?那是——那是你的看法吗?

副国务卿沙利文:在哪方面的不同意见?

问:我的意思是,对如何对待中国没有共识。

沙利文副国务卿:在南中国海?

问:是的。

沙利文副国务卿:我的讨论——例如,我会晤了——我会晤了数个——在我在联大(UNGA)的这个星期与东盟数个国家举行了双边会晤。我可以说,有一种共识,一个东盟和美国的承诺,即对法治,海洋法(Law of the Sea)公约以及应由其来指导这些主权要求,这些对南中国海的有分歧的主权要求,而不是由一个国家采取单边行动,在南中国海开发一些景貌,甚至更糟糕的是将它们军事化。

帕拉迪诺先生:让我们叫——卡罗(Carol),请。《华盛顿邮报》(Washington Post)。

问:谢谢。对美国与中国的一场贸易战会带来什么影响有没有任何讨论,再有,有没有提出任何关于什么是干预选举的问题?肯定有其他东盟国家在美国报纸上刊登过广告。它们有没有任何担心可能被指责干预选举?

沙利文副国务卿:在我刚参加的部长会议上,我们没有讨论干预选举本身。我们的确讨论了美国和东盟国家共有的核心价值,即致力于一个自由和互惠的贸易体系,公平对待各个国家,并且——但至于干预选举的具体问题,在这次会上没有出现,这不意味着这个问题不重要,但只有这么多时间——在一个90分钟的会议上只能涉及这么多问题。

*     *     *     *

问:但存在很多异议。对于中国,东盟国家之间没有共识。你看到这正在发生吗?这是——这是你的看法吗?

副国务卿沙利文:在哪方面有异议?

问:我的意思是,在应对中国方面没有共识。

副国务卿沙利文:有关南中国海?

问:是的。

副国务卿沙利文:我的会谈——例如,我见到了——我见到了好几位——在我出席联合国大会(UNGA)的一周期间同一系列东盟国家进行了双边会谈。我想说存在着共识,东盟和美国对于法治的承诺,对于海洋法公约(Law of the Sea treaty),以及这应当来管控这些主张,对南中国海的有争议的主张,而不是由一个国家单方面采取行动在南中国海开发地物,甚至更恶劣的是将其军事化。

帕拉迪诺先生:我们继续——卡罗尔(Carol),请。《华盛顿邮报》(Washington Post)。

:谢谢你。有任何关于一场美国同中国的贸易战的后果的讨论吗,有提到什么构成干预选举吗?肯定还有其他东盟国家在美国报纸上刊登过广告。是否有他们也可能被指控干预选举的关切?

副国务卿沙利文:在我刚刚参加过的部长级会议上,我们没有讨论干预选举这个问题本身。我们的确讨论了美国与东盟国家共有的某些核心价值观,即致力于一个自由及对等的贸易体制,让各国得到公平待遇——但至于干预选举的具体问题,在这次会谈上没有提到,但这并不是说它是一个不重要的问题,因为那里——那里只有那么多时间——在一次90分钟的会议上要涉及如此多的议题。

*     *     *     *

On the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting

On the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting

Special Briefing
John J. Sullivan,  Deputy Secretary of State
Robert Palladino,  Deputy Spokesperson

Lotte New York Palace Hotel
New York, N.Y.
September 27, 2018

MR PALLADINO: Thank you all for coming. We are privileged today to have with us the Deputy Secretary of State John Sullivan, who will be speaking about the Association of Southeast Asian Nations Ministerial Meeting as well as the United States priorities for the region. Deputy Secretary Sullivan will start with a few comments, and then we’ll be able to open it up for a few questions. Today’s briefing is on the record, off camera, and embargoed until the completion.

Deputy Secretary Sullivan, please.

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Thanks, Robert. Good afternoon, everyone. Thank you for that kind introduction, and thank you for letting me share a few minutes of your time to talk to you today about, first of all, the ASEAN Foreign Ministerial that I just co-chaired. We had a meeting here. It was co-chaired with the foreign minister of Laos, Foreign Minister Saleumxay, who is the country coordinator for the United States – the United States relationship with ASEAN for the next three years.

And I was met with representatives from all of the 10 ASEAN member countries. We reaffirmed the U.S.-ASEAN strategic partnership and discussed U.S. – the U.S. commitment to a free and open Indo-Pacific region with ASEAN at its center, in which independent nations with diverse cultures and aspirations can prosper side by side in freedom and peace.

During our meeting I highlighted the U.S. commitment to upholding international law, including the freedom of navigation in the South China Sea. We also discussed ASEAN’s efforts to fully implement UN Security Council resolutions on North Korea.

We have enjoyed many successes during the past 41 years of U.S.-ASEAN partnership, and we’re fully committed to building upon this relationship at the upcoming U.S.-ASEAN Summit and East Asia Leaders Summit in Singapore on November 15th.

And with that, I’d be happy to answer your questions.

MR PALLADINO: Let’s start with Bloomberg, Nick Wadhams.

QUESTION: Thank you. Thank you, (inaudible) Secretary. Could you describe the mood in the room? Today at the Security Council there was a lot of division about whether sanctions should continue on North Korea or be lifted. There has been some reporting from the region that countries throughout Asia share the Chinese view that there should be a phased approach toward North Korea and that the support for the U.S. maximum pressure approach is weakening; a lot of countries want those sanctions to be lifted. What was the mood from the officials you spoke with?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Well, that was certainly not the view expressed by the countries that met with me today. We discussed the continuing need to enforce the UN Security Council resolutions. This isn’t a judgment of the United States that we’re talking about; these are UN Security Council resolutions that were adopted and need to be enforced. And there was no disagreement with the position I urged, which was all countries – all countries that are interested in world peace, in denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula – should be enforcing these Security Council resolutions to the full.

MR PALLADINO: Let’s go to David Brunnstrom with Reuters.

QUESTION: Thank you. Could you clarify the situation vis-a-vis the timeframe when you’d like to see denuclearization? The State Department put out a statement saying 2021, but the President yesterday seemed to indicate there is no timeframe. Has the timeframe been dropped, or is it still in place for 2021?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Well, certainly I know from my conversations with Secretary Pompeo that he is working as hard as humanly possible along with our colleagues across the interagency to achieve denuclearization as soon as possible. The President’s comments yesterday I think indicate the scope of the challenge we face. I will – the President has given you his thoughts on this, which I wholeheartedly endorse. I think it will be a substantial challenge. The Secretary of State along with the entire interagency is working as hard as possible to achieve that denuclearization as quickly as we can.

QUESTION: Can I just follow up on Nick’s question?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Sure.

QUESTION: So when you said that you’ve heard – that you didn’t hear any difference of opinion in terms of enforcing the existing sanctions, I mean, one of the ideas that the Russians and the Chinese put forward today at the Security Council meeting was – well, the Russians in particular talked about exemptions for certain projects that both North and South had agreed to, and then the Chinese talked about more broader easing.

But are you saying that the ASEAN countries are opposed to both, as you are? And I assume – I just want to make sure – the U.S. is opposed to both until there is some actual movement or denuclearization, correct?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Sure. So two parts to that question. The UN Security Council resolutions that we’re seeking to enforce don’t provide any of those exceptions. We’re not in favor of those. The discussion that we had today with the – at the ASEAN ministerial, what I said was I did not hear from those member-countries any support for those exceptions or any exceptions, which is not to say that they then made affirmative statements to me that they would oppose across the board. I don’t want to put words into their mouths, but that was not raised at the meeting that I co-chaired today.

QUESTION: Thanks.

MR PALLADINO: Yes, sir. Back there.

QUESTION: Yeah. We have been listening to Prime Minister Mahathir, who spoke yesterday at the CFR and this morning at the Asia Society. What exactly would you expect from the ASEAN countries in regard to the South China Sea? Is there something they could do?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: For the South China Sea. That’s another topic, of course, that we discussed today at the ministerial, and I think there was unanimity among the members in the room that there are, everyone acknowledges, disputed claims in the South China Sea. What every one of those member-countries and the United States is looking for is resolution of those claims not unilaterally by one country but under the norms of international law.

And our opposition to what the Chinese Government has done in the South China Sea is not because we think we’re making a determination that China does or does not have a claim to a particular feature of the South China Sea. We want international law to be followed and for there to be a peaceful process, not a unilateral decision by one country, to resolve those claims, which involve a number of different countries – Philippines, Vietnam, et cetera, Malaysia.

QUESTION: But there’s a lot of dissent. There’s no consensus amongst the ASEAN countries vis-a-vis China. Do you see that happening? Is that what – is that your perception?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Dissent in what regard?

QUESTION: I mean, there’s no consensus in dealing with China.

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: On the South China Sea?

QUESTION: Yes.

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: Well, my discussions – for example, I met – I’ve met with a number of – bilaterally with a number of ASEAN countries during my week here at UNGA. I would say that there is consensus, a commitment by ASEAN and the United States to the rule of law, the Law of the Sea treaty, that that should govern these claims, disputed claims to the South China Sea, and not unilateral actions by one country to develop features in the South China Sea and, even worse, to militarize them.

MR PALLADINO: Let’s go – Carol, please. Washington Post.

QUESTION: Thank you. Was there any discussion about fallout from a U.S. trade war with China, and was it raised at all about what constitutes election meddling? Surely there are other countries in ASEAN that have taken out ads in American newspapers. And was there concern that they might be accused of election meddling?

DEPUTY SECRETARY SULLIVAN: We didn’t discuss election meddling per se at the ministerial meeting that I just came from. We did discuss certain core values that the United States and the ASEAN countries share, which is a commitment to a free and reciprocal trading system that treats countries fairly and – but as to the specific question of election meddling, that didn’t come up at this particular meeting, which is not to say it’s an unimportant issue, which there – there’s only so much time in a – have so many issues that can be covered in a 90-minute meeting.

*             *             *             *