媒体简报:美中外交安全对话

美国国务部

发言人办公室

即时发布

媒体简报

美中外交安全对话

2018年11月9日,迈克尔·R·蓬佩奥国务卿和詹姆斯·N·马蒂斯国防部长在第二轮美中外交安全对话上会见了中国共产党中央外事工作委员会办公室主任杨洁篪和国务委员兼国防部长魏凤和将军。双方就关键外交和安全议题进行了坦诚和深入的对话,再次确认美中外交安全对话可以是一个建设性的平台,能产生有意义的成果。

美中关系:美国强调了特朗普总统对有建设性、注重结果的美中关系的愿景,这一关系基于公平和对等。双方致力于在解决分歧上进行协调,在共同目标上进行合作。双方将为特朗普总统和习主席计划在阿根廷20国集团峰会上会晤的成功进行准备。

战略安全与两军关系:美国和中国同意美中两军关系可以成为整体双边关系的一个稳定因素,并致力于建立一个富有成果的两军关系。双方再次确认改善沟通机制的重要性,以减少两国军队之间误解的风险。两国都寻求保持沟通,磋商实施现有的“信心建立措施”和制定一个两军的“危机消除冲突和沟通框架”。双方决定加深接触,推动关于防止大规模杀伤性武器及其运载工具扩散的共同承诺。美国和中国致力于开展网络和空间安全的磋商,并深化有关核问题和战略问题的沟通。

北朝鲜:双方强调他们继续致力于实现最终、经完全核实的韩朝半岛无核化,正如特朗普总统和金委员长所同意的。美国和中国致力于继续协调,并完全、严格执行相关联合国安理会决议。

地区安全:双方都确认了他们在阿富汗稳定上的共同利益,致力于通过政治解决方案共同努力结束冲突,并支持阿富汗领导的由阿富汗政府与塔利班直接谈判的和平进程。美国指出了伊朗核计划和导弹计划、对恐怖组织的支持以及其他恶意行为对地区稳定构成的威胁。双方有意继续就与伊朗有关的议题进行磋商。

南中国海:双方致力于依据国际法支持南中国海的和平与稳定、支持和平解决争端、航行自由、飞越自由以及其他利用南中国海的合法行为。双方致力于确保航空和海上安全,并以建设性的方式管理风险。美国讨论了依据国际法以安全和专业的方式运行所有军事、执法及民用的船只和飞机的重要性。美国呼吁中国从南沙群岛有争议的地点上撤出其导弹系统,并重申所有国家都应避免通过胁迫或恐吓来解决争端。美国仍然致力于在国际法允许的任何地方飞行、航行和行动。

台湾:美国重申致力于基于《台湾关系法》和“三个联合公报”的美国的一个中国政策,并呼吁中国恢复两岸稳定,尊重台湾的国际空间。美国反对任何一方旨在改变现状的单方面行动,包括任何诉诸武力或胁迫的方式。

新疆:美国对中国不遵守其人权和宗教自由上的国际义务和承诺表示担忧。中国在新疆的镇压运动危害了人权和地区安全。

美国机构和公民:美国敦促中国尊重美国学术、政治、媒体和其他机构的自主权。美国还重申了公平、透明地对待在华美国公民的重要性,包括就中国使用离开禁令表示担忧。

反毒品问题:双方讨论了加强打击毒品合作的计划。美方强调了中国管控所有类型芬太尼的重要性。

MEDIA NOTE: U.S.-China Diplomatic and Security Dialogue

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Office of the Spokesperson

For Immediate Release

MEDIA NOTE

November 9, 2018

U.S.-China Diplomatic and Security Dialogue

On November 9, 2018, Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo and Secretary of Defense James N. Mattis met with Director of the Office of Foreign Affairs of the Central Commission of the Communist Party of China Yang Jiechi and State Councilor and Defense Minister General Wei Fenghe for the second U.S.-China Diplomatic and Security Dialogue.  The two sides had candid and in-depth conversations about key diplomatic and security issues.  They reaffirmed that the U.S.-China Diplomatic and Security Dialogue could be a constructive platform that produces meaningful results.

U.S.-China Relations: The United States highlighted President Trump’s vision for a constructive, results-oriented U.S.-China relationship based on fairness and reciprocity.  Both sides committed to coordinate on resolving differences and cooperate on common goals.  Both sides will be preparing for the success of the planned meeting between Presidents Trump and Xi at the G20 summit in Argentina.

Strategic Security and Mil-Mil Relations: The United States and China recognized that the U.S.-China military-to-military relationship could be a stabilizing factor for the overall bilateral relationship, and committed to a productive mil-mil relationship.  The two sides reaffirmed the importance of improving communication mechanisms to reduce the risk of misunderstanding between the two nations’ militaries.  Both countries seek to maintain communication on implementing existing Confidence Building Measures and developing a military-to-military Crisis Deconfliction and Communication Framework.  The two sides decided to deepen engagement to advance their shared commitment to the nonproliferation of weapons of mass destruction and their means of delivery.  The United States and China committed to convene consultations on cyber and space security, and deepen communication on nuclear and strategic issues.

North Korea: Both sides emphasized their continued commitment to achieving the final, fully verified denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula, as committed to by President Trump and Chairman Kim.  The United States and China committed to continue coordination and to fully, strictly implement the relevant UN Security Council resolutions.

Regional Security: Both sides acknowledged their mutual interest in Afghanistan’s stability, committed to work together on a political settlement to end the conflict, and supported an Afghan-led peace process with direct negotiations between the Afghan government and the Taliban.  The United States raised the threat posed to regional stability by Iran’s nuclear and missile programs, support for terrorist organizations, and other malign behavior.  Both sides intend to continue consultations on topics related to Iran.

South China Sea: The two sides committed to support peace and stability in the South China Sea, the peaceful resolution of disputes, and freedom of navigation and overflight and other lawful uses of the sea in accordance with international law.  Both sides committed to ensure air and maritime safety, and manage risks in a constructive manner.  The United States discussed the importance of all military, law enforcement, and civilian vessels and aircraft operating in a safe and professional manner in accordance with international law. The United States called on China to withdraw its missile systems from disputed features in the Spratly Islands, and reaffirmed that all countries should avoid addressing disputes through coercion or intimidation. The United States remains committed to fly, sail, and operate wherever international law allows.

Taiwan: The United States reaffirmed its commitment to the U.S. One China policy, based on the Taiwan Relations Act and the three joint communiques, and called on China to restore cross-Strait stability and respect Taiwan’s international space.  The United States opposes unilateral actions by any party aimed at altering the status quo, including any resort to force or coercion.

Xinjiang: The United States raised concerns about China’s lack of adherence to its international obligations and commitments on human rights and religious freedom.  China’s campaign of repression in Xinjiang undermines human rights and regional security.

U.S. Institutions and Citizens: The United States urged China to respect the autonomy of U.S. academic, political, media, and other institutions.  The United States also reiterated the importance of fair and transparent treatment of U.S. citizens in China, including by raising concerns about China’s use of exit bans.

Counternarcotics: Both sides discussed their plans to enhance cooperation in combating drugs.  The U.S. side stressed the importance of China controlling all types of fentanyl.