马蒂斯与中国、东南亚官员会晤

伙伴关系

马蒂斯与中国、东南亚官员会晤

2018 年10月18日|  Jim Garamone

国防部长詹姆斯·马蒂斯正在对印度-亚太地区进行第八次访问,以帮助美国照顾其在该重要地区维持的众多伙伴关系和同盟。

他正在新加坡参加东盟国防部长会议,以此作为改善合作的一种方式。该组织由文莱、马来西亚、泰国、越南、柬埔寨、菲律宾、印度尼西亚、老挝、缅甸和新加坡组成,旨在通过法治促进该地区的经济增长。

国防部长马蒂斯与中国国防部长魏凤和上将还举行了一次单独会晤。马蒂斯再次明确表示美国计划在可能的领域与中国合作,并且正在寻求进行更多合作的方式。他还明确表示,尽管中国建造人工岛屿并安装军事设施,美国将继续航行自由行动。

在到达新加坡之前,马蒂斯访问了越南,在那里他与越南对口官员举行了会晤,并研究了清理越南战争中橙剂污染的计划。美军从飞机上向三层树冠丛林喷洒的这种脱叶剂含有致癌的二噁英。

Mattis Confers With Chinese, Southeast Asian Officials

BY JIM GARAMONE

OCT. 18, 2018

Defense Secretary James N. Mattis is making his eighth trip to the Indo-Asia-Pacific area to help tend the many partnerships and alliances the U.S. maintains in that important region.

He is attending the Association of Southeast Asian Nations Defense Ministers Meeting in Singapore as a way to improve cooperation. The association – made up of Brunei, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, the Philippines, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar and Singapore – seeks to spur economic growth in the area through the rule of law.

The secretary also held individual meetings with China’s Minister of National Defense Gen. Wei Fenghe where Mattis once again made it clear the United States plans to work with China where possible and is looking for ways to cooperate more. He also made it clear the United States will continue freedom of navigation operations in spite of China building artificial islands and arming those facilities.

Before arriving in Singapore, Mattis visited Vietnam where he met with Vietnamese counterparts and examined plans to clean up Agent Orange contamination from the Vietnam War. The defoliant that U.S. service members sprayed on the triple-canopy jungle from aircraft, contained cancer-causing dioxin.