马蒂斯国防部长在美国印太司令部的司令部变更仪式上发表讲话

美国的国防战略是美国军方的路线图,它认识到这样一个现实,即要对现实的世界有清醒的认识,而不是基于我们的一厢情愿。我们的2018年国防战略是十年来的首个该类战略,它认识到太平洋地区的挑战并显示出美国对印太地区的决心和持久承诺。

美国与这个地区大多数国家有着共同的愿景。对每个国家来说,无论其大小,主权都受到尊重,而且这是一个对投资及自由、公平和互惠的贸易都开放的区域,不受任何国家的掠夺性经济或胁迫性威胁的约束,因为印太地区有许多的带和许多的路。

美国继续大力投资于印太地区的稳定,加强以规则为基础的自由和开放的国际秩序,正是这一国际秩序让这个地区在70多年间发展和繁荣。虽然我们随时准备应对任何试图挑战美国决心的人,但我们的国防战略并不是对抗战略。

相反,它是一个理想主义、务实主义与合作的平衡。在符合我们的国际利益和盟友、伙伴的利益及稳定的情况下,我们将继续寻求机会与竞争对手展开合作与公开的对话。

我们将永远从实力出发去寻求和平。我们还将继续进一步在这个地区加强现有的联盟关系并培育新的伙伴关系,因为这些是形成我们战略愿景的基石,它们形成一个尊重所有国家主权的共同愿景,并让我们能够增强一个业已坚韧的安全架构,使之能够应对共同的威胁,无论是恐怖主义还是对自由贸易的抑制或是可能降临在任何国家的人道主义灾难。

 

维护与我们在太平洋和印度洋的盟友及伙伴的关系已被证明对维护地区稳定至关重要。我们支持我们的伙伴及他们的主权决定,因为如果我们要维护对全球和平至关重要的海洋地区的稳定,所有国家——无论大小——对这一地区都至关重要。

此外,鉴于印度洋和太平洋日益增长的连接,今天我们将美国太平洋司令部重新命名为美国印太司令部。几十年来,该司令部多次调整以适应不断变化的环境,今天随着美国向西聚焦,它继续传承这一传统。

https://www.defense.gov/News/Transcripts/Transcript-View/Article/1535689/remarks-at-us-indo-pacific-command-change-of-command-ceremony/source/GovDelivery/

Secretary of Defense Mattis, Remarks at U.S. Indo-Pacific Command Change of Command Ceremony

Secretary of Defense James N. Mattis
May 30, 2018

America’s National Defense Strategy is a roadmap for the American military and it acknowledges this reality, taking a clear-eyed look at the world as it is, not how we would wish it to be. Our 2018 National Defense Strategy is the first of its kind in a decade, and it acknowledges the Pacific challenges and signals America’s resolve and lasting commitment to the Indo-Pacific.

America’s vision is shared by most nations in the region. For every state, sovereignty is respected, no matter its size and it’s a region open to investment and free, fair and reciprocal trade not bound by any nation’s predatory economics or threat of coercion, for the Indo-Pacific has many belts and many roads.

America continues to invest vigorously in Indo-Pacific stability, bolstering the free and open rules-based international order that has enabled this region to grow and to thrive for over 70 years. While we are prepared to face any who would seek to challenge America’s resolve, our National Defense Strategy is not a strategy of confrontation.

Rather, it is a balance of idealism, pragmatism and cooperation. We will continue to seek out opportunities for cooperation and open dialogue with our competitors when it aligns with our international interests and the interest of allies, partners and stability.

And we will always be seeking peace from a position of strength. We will also continue further strengthening existing alliances and fostering new partnerships in the region, for these form a fundamental cornerstone of our strategic vision, a shared vision respectful of all nations sovereignty, and allowing us to reinforce a resilient security architecture capable of confronting shared threats, be they terrorism or an inhibition of free trade or humanitarian disasters that can befall any nation.

Relationships with our Pacific and Indian Ocean allies and partners have proven critical to maintaining regional stability. We stand by our partners and support their sovereign decisions, because all nations large and small are essential to the region if we’re to sustain stability in ocean areas critical to global peace.

Further, in recognition of the increasing connectivity, the Indian and Pacific Oceans, today we rename the U.S. Pacific Command to U.S. Indo-Pacific Command. Over many decades, this command has repeatedly adapted to changing circumstance, and today carries that legacy forward as America focuses west.

https://www.defense.gov/News/Transcripts/Transcript-View/Article/1535689/remarks-at-us-indo-pacific-command-change-of-command-ceremony/source/GovDelivery/