2019年美印“2+2”部长级对话的要点

2019年美印“2+2部长级对话的要点

2019年12月18日美国东部标准时间下午09:01

发言人办公室

迈克尔·R·蓬佩奥国务卿和国防部长马克·T·埃斯珀今天在华盛顿DC国务院共同接待了印度国防部长拉杰纳特·辛格和外交部长苏杰生博士参加第二次美印“2+2”部长级对话。双方重申了美国和印度之间不断增进的战略伙伴关系,其基础是民主价值观、共同的战略目标、强有力的人民间的联系以及对其公民实现繁荣的共同承诺。

在会谈中,蓬佩奥国务卿和他的对等官员重申了他们致力于共同努力以支持一个自由、开放和包容的印太地区的决心。双方同意加深合作应对区域和全球威胁,打击恐怖主义,协调救灾工作,培训维和人员,促进透明和可持续的基础设施以及海上安全。双方代表团还欢迎进一步加强人民间联系的新倡议,包括面向议员和年轻创新者的新交流项目,加强司法合作,扩大大学研究伙伴关系以及一项新的双边《科学与技术协定》。展望未来,双方承诺在水管理、海洋和太空领域进行新的合作。

国务卿和他的对等官员还讨论了扩大他们的21世纪防务伙伴关系的方式。他们欢迎通过以下方式得以实现的美印两军之间前所未有的合作程度:如首度三军联合军演“老虎凯旋”之类的强化军演、更多信息分享、扩大防务贸易、配置联络军官以及防务促进协议,包括近期达成的促进我们双方私营领域防务合作的协议。紧密的美印防务伙伴关系在12月17日辛格部长访问维吉尼亚州诺福克市时得到了全面展示,期间他在诺福克海军基地和欧西安纳海军航空基地参观了航空母舰并观看了战斗机演示。

辛格部长和苏杰生部长向美方发出邀请,参加下一次在印度主办的 “2+2”部长级对话。双方都期待下次会谈,并同意就已在进行中的一系列活动和倡议继续密切合作。

Highlights of 2019 U.S.-India 2+2 Ministerial Dialogue

Highlights of 2019 U.S.-India 2+2 Ministerial Dialogue

12/18/2019 09:01 PM EST

Office of the Spokesperson

Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo and Secretary of Defense Mark T. Esper today co-hosted Indian Minister of Defense Rajnath Singh and Minister of External Affairs Dr. S. Jaishankar for the second U.S.-India 2+2 Ministerial Dialogue at the Department of State in Washington, D.C.  The two sides reaffirmed the growing strategic partnership between the United States and India, which is grounded in democratic values, shared strategic objectives, strong people-to-people ties, and a common commitment to the prosperity of their citizens.

During the meeting, Secretary Pompeo and his counterparts reaffirmed their commitment to work together in support of a free, open, and inclusive Indo-Pacific region.  The two sides agreed to deepen cooperation to address regional and global threats, combat terrorism, coordinate on disaster relief, train peacekeepers, promote transparent and sustainable infrastructure, and advance maritime security.  Both delegations also welcomed new initiatives to further strengthen people-to-people ties, including new exchange programs for Parliamentarians and young innovators, increased judicial cooperation, the expansion of university research partnerships, and a new bilateral Science and Technology Agreement.  Looking to the future, the two sides pledged new cooperative efforts in the areas of water management, oceans, and space.

The Secretary and his counterparts also discussed ways to expand their 21st century defense partnership.  They welcomed the unprecedented levels of cooperation between the U.S. and Indian militaries, made possible through enhanced exercises such as the first-ever tri-service TIGER TRIUMPH exercise, greater information sharing, expanded defense trade, placement of liaison officers, and defense enabling agreements, including a recently concluded agreement to promote defense collaboration between our private sectors.  The close U.S.-India defense partnership was on full display during Minister Singh’s visit to Norfolk, VA, on December 17, during which he participated in an aircraft carrier tour and fighter aircraft demonstration at Naval Station Norfolk and Naval Air Station Oceana.

Ministers Singh and Jaishankar extended an invitation to the U.S. side to host the next 2+2 Ministerial Dialogue in India.  Both sides looked forward to the next meeting and agreed to continue close cooperation on the range of activities and initiatives already underway.