卫生与公众服务部部长阿扎尔举行新闻会

2020年2月25日

卫生与公众服务部(HHS)部长亚历克斯·阿扎尔(Alex Azar)

疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)首席副主任安妮·舒查特(Anne Schuchat)

国家过敏症和传染病研究所(NIAID)所长安东尼·福奇(Anthony Fauci)

卫生与公众服务部防备与应急反应事务助理部长罗伯特·卡德莱克(Robert Kadlec)

食品和药物管理局(FDA)局长斯蒂芬·哈恩( Stephen Hahn)

 

阿扎尔:……今天与我一道在这里的有来自亚特兰大(Atlanta)疾病控制与预防中心(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)的首席副主任安妮·舒查特博士、来自国家过敏症和传染病研究所(National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease)的托尼·福奇博士、卫生与公众服务部防备和应急反应事务助理部长罗伯特·卡德莱克博士以及食品和药物管理局(FDA)局长斯蒂芬·哈恩博士。截至今天上午,在美国发现的中国冠状病毒病例仍然是14例,都涉及曾到中国旅行或与旅行者有过密切接触的人。

 

我们在从武汉撤回的美国人中有三个病例,在从日本钻石公主号(Diamond Princess)游轮撤回的美国乘客中有40个病例。我要感谢应急人员和有关社区与卫生与公众服务部及本政府合作,为这些美国人提供了所需的治疗。我也感谢迄今与我们密切合作的州长以及其他州和地方领导人。

 

美国公众面临的直接风险仍然很低,但正如我们所警告的那样,这种情况有可能很快改变。现在,一些国家有社区传播,包括在亚洲以外的国家。这一点令人深感担忧,其他国家的社区传播将使我们在边境成功遏制变得越来越困难。正是由于这个原因,我们已经与州、地方和私营行业合作伙伴展开密切合作,为减少病毒在美国可能出现的传播做好准备,因为我们很可能会看到更多病例的出现,就像我们在这次情况中一直所说。

 

舒查特博士将对将出现的情形提供更多细节,包括我们将如何对待在美国由社区传播引起的可能病例。这种防备工作之所以可能,部分原因是特朗普(Trump)总统对疫情所做出的迅速积极反应。我们在得知这种新型病毒带来的威胁之后,公共卫生部门领导人立即予以监视并着手准备应对。

 

总统在本月初采取的旅行限制给了我国宝贵的时间继续进行准备,而这正是上述措施的目的。这也包括与国会合作。昨天,白宫中心已经请求国会提供至少25亿美元的资金用于防备和应急。

 

在增补的这项请求中有五大重点,我今天上午在参议院拨款委员会(Senate Appropriations Committee)上做了着重强调。首先,我们需要在疾控中心流感监测网络现有系统的基础上扩大我们的监测工作。第二,我们将需要资金支持公共卫生防备,帮助州和地方政府应对这个可能是非常大规模的应急需要。我们并不能确定,但我们必须做好准备以防万一。上述资金是对这些地方合作伙伴从疾控中心得到的大量防备资金的补充,近年来每年大约十亿美元拨款中的三分之二以此为目的。

 

第三和第四,我们需要支持研发治疗方案和疫苗。鉴于此次疫情的规模,私营业看到在应对和在诊断领域确实有市场,而来自联邦政府的资金和指导可以加速这方面的工作。福奇博士将更深入地谈这方面工作的现状。

 

第五,也是最后一点,我们需要资金,购买人员防护装备,进行战略性国家储备,这个问题将由卡德莱克博士来谈。最后,我要指出,尽管由于日程冲突使总统的冠状病毒特别工作组的其他成员无法出席今天的通报会,我们将很快提供来自跨机构领导人的最新情况通报,并预期在未来会保持定期通报。今天下午早些时候,国家经济委员会主任拉里·库德洛(Larry Kudlow )在CNBC电视台介绍了我们对此次疫情对经济影响的最新看法。今天早上,疾控中心的梅索尼耶(Messonnier)博士也做了日常电话简报……。

 

舒查特:……在有报告说中国武汉出现了一种类似流感的不明病状后,美国政府立即针对新型冠状病毒有可能传入我国做出反应。美国就一直在采用积极的遏制战略,要求尽可能检测、追踪和隔离所有病例,并防止更多的输入病例,特别是在入境口岸。

 

我们已经对入境美国实行了限制,并针对目前正在经历疫情几乎扩散的国家发布了多次旅行提示。随着我们不断获得新的信息,我们的旅行通告也几乎每天都在调整,我们相信这些预防措施都是有效的。

 

到目前为止,正如阿扎尔部长所描述的,我们的公共卫生系统在美国旅行者或与旅行者有密切接触的人员当中发现了14个病例。在被国务院从中国武汉和钻石公主号接回的旅行者中,分别还有3个和40个病例。我们能够将病例控制在如此低数量,这本身就是一个成就,特别是考虑到我们很不幸地看到,在越来越多的其他国家开始出行社区性传播。

 

根据我们目前掌握的情况,我们认为美国当前面临的仍然是低风险,我们正在努力保持这样的低风险。但我们必须利用这段时间,继续为可能出现的在美国的社区传播做准备。准备工作的一部分是教育公众以及我们的州、地方和私营业合作伙伴,一旦形势发生变化,让大家知道什么是从积极的遏制措施转为社区措施或社区减缓措施……。

 

然而,目前的全球状况表明,这种病毒很可能会导致大流行。在这种情况下,风险评估将不同,这将需要实施因地适宜的新战略,以减轻疾病的影响,进一步减缓病毒的传播。这些干预措施在社区一级将依据当地情况和新出现的病毒严重程度信息而各有不同……。

 

正如在座的一些人今天可能已经从疾控中心的梅索尼耶博士那里听到,我们已经开始向公众宣传减少病毒传播的做法。有一些是显而易见的常识性手段,比如良好的卫生习惯,保持人际距离,比如生病时要待在家里,就像是我们过去在艰难时期,例如在2009年H1N1流感大流行期间所做的一样。我们将对这些手段以及在它们成为必要手段时对公众保持透明……。

 

福奇:……我将给大家做一个非常简短的有关应对措施的情况通报,在过去几周我已经多次向各位介绍过。首先是关于疫苗。大家可能还记得,我在第一次介绍疫苗的时候提到,在病毒基因序列在公共数据库公布后,短期之内我们就启动了一个疫苗开发计划,这是由国立卫生研究院(NIH)和阿斯珀(Asper)的Botter(SP)以及还有一些个体人士共同支持的项目之一,各方已经合作一段时间了。

 

就目前而言,我认为其中一种疫苗可以作为疫苗的原型。大家可能还记得我说过,从测出病毒序列开始,我们希望在两到三个月内进行临床试验。正如我所言,如果不出任何差错,这将是有史以来任何一种疫苗的最快进度,从我们识别出一种病原体到在第一阶段试验中将其注入人体。我很高兴在今天下午向各位汇报,我们在按期向前推进,甚至比预期还要更好一点……。

 

因此,在接下来的几个月时间可能还是没有疫苗可用,但疫苗肯定会是我们将有的一个重要工具,就此我们将随时向各位通报。

 

第二,也是我的最后一点,关于治疗干预问题。我们现在正在研究的一些候选疗法,它们在体外实验、动物模型或在中东呼吸综合征(MERS)爆发期间进行的一些实证研究中已经显示出了一些迹象。我们正在考虑的还有几种药物,其中一种,叫做瑞德西韦(Remdesivir),是由吉利德公司(Gilead)研制的一种核苷酸类似物。就在我现在说话时,有两个重大的临床试验正在中国进行,都是随机对照试验,这意味着在一段合理时间内,无论该药物是否有效,我们都将得到一个答案……。

 

卡德莱克:……从钻石公主号上撤离的旅客正在国防部下属的两个设施完成为期14天的隔离,其中一个位于加利福尼亚(California),另一个位于得克萨斯(Texas)。我国疾控中心的救灾医疗系统的医疗专业人员正在持续监测这些旅客的健康状况。任何出现病状的旅客都会被转移出国防部设施,并接受病毒检测。如果检测结果显示新冠病毒阳性,将不能待在军事设施内,并将被安全送到我们的特殊病原体治疗中心网络机构,如内布拉斯加州立大学医疗中心(University of Nebraska Medical Center),这也是我们积极遏制的一个组成部分。

 

这些旅客被安置在上述设施中仅仅是为了检疫和隔离。这些人中的大多数通常并不需要高强度的医疗护理。在这些中心,遭受感染的患者可以参加福奇博士前面提到的有关瑞德西韦的临床试验。我们很荣幸帮助国立卫生研究院安排在这些特殊的治疗中心内进行临床试验……。

 

我们还做好准备在指定的军事设施为疾控中心和国土安全部提供支持,在这些设施中,可对乘坐商业航班返回的美国人根据他们的旅行史进行隔离。最近接待此类旅行者的地点是位于文图拉县(Ventura)穆古角(Point Mugu)的海军基地,有一名美国人正在那里完成隔离……。

 

哈恩:……食品和药物管理局是积极参与新型冠状病毒应对措施的一个合作伙伴,我们与政府、卫生与公众服务部的公共卫生合作伙伴以及国际同行密切合作。

 

我们的工作是多方面的,重点是积极推进诊断、治疗、预防疾病的努力,监督医疗产品供应链以防可能出现的短缺或中断,并在必要时帮助减轻这种影响……。

 

在检查方面,今年2月和3月,食品和药物管理局在中国确定了大约100项定期检查,其中绝大多数是例行监督检查。目前这些检查只是暂时推迟,将在晚些时候进行。需要记住,这些延迟的例行监督检查可以在一年中的任何时候发生。虽然在中国的检查因为国务院发出的旅行建议而被推迟,但我们将派遣调查人员到世界其他地方,以确保我们按时完成今年的检查计划……。

 

阿扎尔:所以,我们目前打算继续对中国实行旅行限制。这种病毒仍在中国传播。我们每天仍看到上百例的病例上报,如果它们是全部信息的话。每天仍有数十人甚至更多的死亡报告。

 

我们当然希望中国能够采取有效的遏制措施,减缓这种病毒的传播。但在当前,没有任何迹象表明我们将改变针对中国旅行所采取的积极的遏制措施。

 

不过,重要的是要记住,我们所采取的这些旅行措施是非常有限和少量的。它们只是基于14天,也就是预测的最长潜伏期。因此,在过去14天中曾经去过中国的外国人将不得进入美国。当然,美国公民或永久居民可以返回美国,但是要求他们完成为期14天的隔离居住。

 

这不是一项禁令。这只是依据我们的公共卫生措施而采取的一个临时性限制。所以,我们尽可能对旅行者保持尊重。当然了,这些限制并不是要把美国人和永久居民与非美国人相对,而仅仅是为了更好地集中我们的资源。

 

我们的措施并非针对任何人的族裔或者——或者其他任何因素,因为,正如前面提到的,重要的是,我们不参与任何——人们不相信,由于某人的族裔,他们就更有可能患有或不患有这种病。我们的标准是基于在受感染地区的旅行,以及基于流行病学和证据而对到受感染地区旅行发出警……。

 

阿扎尔:……例如,在国外,疫情正在迅速蔓延。在美国,这种疾病——正如舒查特医生所言——受到遏制,这要归功于总统以及这支团队积极主动的遏制努力。我们现在已有两周没有在美国出现新病例。2月11日有14个病例,今天还是14个病例。在美国这里的这种遏制程度十分显著。我们所有的新病例全部都是在我们人道主义的接返回国的努力中带进国内的。

 

此外,我们力图对美国公众始终保持高度透明。从第一天起我们就说了,我们不能将美国与世界完全隔离。我们宣布我们最初的旅行限制时,我站在这个讲台上,我站在白宫的新闻发布会上,我们一直都在说有可能出现更多的病例。我们——我们不希望人们在美国看到更多的病例时感到意外,这是透明度的重要部分。当大家看到新的病例时不应该惊慌失措,他们应该知道他们的政府已经预测到这种情况,而且我们已经有应对方案……。

Health and Human Services Secretary Azar Holds Media Availability

Health and Human Services Secretary Azar Holds Media Availability

 

Feb. 25, 2020

 

SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES ALEX AZAR

 

CDC PRINCIPAL DEPUTY DIRECTOR ANNE SCHUCHAT

 

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF ALLERGY AND INFECTIOUS DISEASES DIRECTOR ANTHONY S. FAUCI

 

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES ASSISTANT SECRETARY FOR PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE ROBERT KADLEC

 

FDA COMMISSIONER STEPHEN HAHN

 

AZAR: …I’m joined today by Dr. Anne Schuchat, the principal Deputy Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, Dr. Tony Fauci of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease, Dr. Robert Kadlec, HHS Assistant Secretary for preparedness and response, and Dr. Stephen Hahn, the Commissioner of Food and Drugs. As of this morning, we still have only 14 cases of the China coronavirus detected here in the United States involving travel to China or close contacts with those travelers.

 

We have three cases among Americans repatriated from Wuhan and we have 40 cases among American passengers repatriated from the Diamond Princess in Japan. I want to think that responders and communities that have worked with HHS and the administration to provide these Americans with the treatment they need. I’m also grateful to the governors and other state and local leaders who have worked with us in close partnership so far.

 

The immediate risk to the general American public remains low, but as we have warned, that has the pencil to change quickly. There is now community transmission in a number of countries, including outside of Asia. That’s deeply concerning and community spread in other countries will make successful containment at our borders harder and harder. That’s what we’ve already been working closely with state, local, and private sector partners to prepare for mitigating the virus’ potential spread in the United States because we will likely see more cases here as we have said throughout this episode.

 

Dr. Schuchat will provide some more details on what that will look like, including how we would treat potential cases that arise from community transmission here in the United States. This preparation has been possible in part because of how aggressively President Trump has responded to this outbreak. As soon we knew of the threat presented by this novel virus, public health leaders were monitoring it and beginning to prepare.

 

The travel restrictions that the president put in place at the beginning of this month have given our country valuable time to continue to prepare, and that is precisely what those measures were designed to do. That includes working with Congress. Yesterday, the White House center requested Congress to make at least $2.5 billion in funding available for preparedness and response.

 

There are five major priorities within the supplemental request, which I underscored this morning before the Senate Appropriations Committee. First, we need to expand our surveillance work building on an existing system we have within CDC’s influenza surveillance network. Second, we will need funds to support public health preparedness and responsible for state and local governments for what could be a very large scale response. We don’t know, but we must prepare for that just in case. This support complements the significant funds that these partners have received from CDC for preparedness, about two thirds of billion dollars a year in recent years.

 

Third and fourth, we need to support the development of therapeutics and the development of vaccines. Given the scale of this outbreak, the private sector sees a real market for both kinds of countermeasures as well as for diagnostics, but federal funding and guidance can accelerate this work. Dr. Fauci will address the current status of that work in more depth.

 

Fifth and finally, we need funds for the purchase of personal protective equipment for the strategic national stockpile, a topic that Dr. Kadlec will can address. I will conclude by noting that, though scheduling conflicts prevented this briefing from including other members of the president’s coronavirus task force, we’ll prudent be providing a new update from interagency leaders soon and we expect to continue doing so regularly. Earlier this afternoon on CNBC, the national economic Council director Larry Kudlow offered an update on how we see this outbreak affecting the economy. This morning, Dr. Messonnier from CDC provided that usual telebriefing….

 

 

 

SCHUCHAT:… The U.S. government’s response to the spread of the novel coronavirus into our country began as soon as reports of an unidentified flu-like illness emerged from Wuhan, China. The U.S. has been implementing an aggressive containment strategy that requires detecting, tracking, and isolating all cases as much as possible and preventing more introductions of disease, notably at ports of entry.

 

We’ve restricted travel into the U.S. and have issued multiple travel advisories for countries currently experiencing nearly spread. Our travel notices are changing almost daily as we get new information and we believe those precautions are working.

 

So far, as Secretary Azar described, our public health system has detected 14 cases in travelers or very close contacts of travelers here in the United States. Among passengers repatriated from–by the State Department from Wuhan, China and from the Diamond Princess, there are an additional 3 and 40 cases. The fact that we have been able to keep cases to the slow level is an accomplishment, especially given that we are unfortunately beginning to see community spread in a growing number of other countries.

 

Based on what we know right now, we believe the immediate risk here in the United States remains low and we are working hard to keep that risk low. But we must use this time to continue to prepare for the event of community transmission United States. Part of that preparation is educating the public and our state, local, and private sector partners about what transition from aggressive containment measures to community measures or community mitigation would look like, should we end up there.

 

However, current global circumstances suggest it’s likely that this virus will cause a pandemic. In that case, risk assessment would be different and new strategies tailored to local circumstances would need to be implement it to blunt the impact of the disease and further slow the spread of the virus. What these interventions would look like at the community level will vary depending on local conditions and on the emerging information about how severe the virus may be.

 

As some of you heard from Dr. Messonnier of the CDC today, we’ve begun laying out for the public what it will look like to mitigate the spread of the virus. There are obvious common sense tools like good hygiene, social distancing, things like staying home when you’re sick, things we talk about during a difficult season or things that we talked about during the 2009 H1N1 pandemic. We will be transparent with the public about these measures enter the potential that these tools will be necessary….

 

FAUCI: … I’m going to give you a very brief update on the countermeasure development that I introduced to this audience on a number of occasions over the past couple of weeks, and the first regarding the issue of vaccine. You might recall that I had mentioned when we first introduce the topic of vaccine that very shortly after the sequence was put on a public database, we began a vaccine development program, which was one of several supported both be by the NIH as well as Botter (SP) from Asper and even independent individuals that we have been involved in collaborating with for a period of time.

 

One of these vaccines I think serves as the prototype of the timing of what we were talking about. You might recall I had mentioned that from the time we had available sequence, we would hope to be in clinical trials within two to three months and I said barring any glitches, that would be the fastest ever in any vaccine that we’ve gone from the identification of a pathogen to putting it into a human in a phase one trial. Well, I am happy to report to you this afternoon that we are on time at least an maybe even a little better.

 

So a vaccine may not solve the problems of the next couple of months, but it certainly would be an important tool that we would have, and we’ll keep you posted on that.

 

Secondly and finally, the issue of therapeutic interventions. There are a number of candidates that we are now looking at that have shown some suggestion either in vitro, in an animal model, or some empiric trials that were done during the MERS outbreak. One of these, and there are several that we are considering, is called Remdesivir, which is a nucleotide analog that is produced by Gilead. Today as I speak, there are two major clinical trials going on in China, which are randomized controlled trials, which means that we will get an answer whether or not it works or doesn’t work I think within a reasonable period of time….

 

KADLEC: … Passengers evacuated from the Diamond Princess are in the process of completing their 14 day quarantine at two DOD installations, one in California and one in Texas. Medical professionals from our national disaster medical system in CDC are continuously monitoring the health of these passengers. Any passenger that shows signs of any illness are moved off the DOD facility and tested for this virus. Passengers who are tested positive for this coronavirus cannot stay on the military installations and these patients are being transported safely to our network of special pathogen treatment centers such as the University of Nebraska Medical Center as part of our aggressive containment posture.

 

These individuals are being placed in these facilities for quarantine and isolation purposes only. An intensive level of medical care is not typical typically needed by most of these individuals. At the centers, the patients who develop this infection can participate in the clinical trial that Dr. Fauci ascribed with Remdesivir. We are honored to have helped NIH to arrange the conical trial within that special network of treatment centers.

 

We are also prepared to support CDC and the Department of Homeland Security at designated military installations where Americans returning to the U.S. on commercial flights can be quarantined based on their travel history. The most recent location to receive such a traveler is the Naval base in Ventura County Point Mugu where one American is currently completing quarantine….

 

 

HAHN: … The FDA is an active partner in the novel coronavirus response working closely with our government and public health partners across the U.S. Department of Health and human services as well as our international counterparts.

 

Our work is multifaceted, focusing on actively facilitating efforts to diagnose, treat, prevent the disease, surveilling the medical products supply chain for potential shortages or disruptions, and helping to mitigate such impacts as necessary.  

 

With respect to inspections, for February and March, FDA has identified approximately 100 scheduled inspection in China, the vast majority of which are routine surveillance inspections. Those inspections are just postponed at this time and will be conducted at a later date. It’s important to remember that these delayed routine surveillance inspections can happen at any time during the year. And while inspections in China are delayed secondary to the State Department travel advisory, we will send investigators to other parts of the world to ensure we are on schedule for our planned inspections for the year. …

 

AZAR: … So, we intend to keep our travel restrictions with regard to China in place at the moment. The–the vac–the virus is still spreading in China. We’re still having hundreds of case reports per day, if that’s capturing all of the information. We’re still seeing dozens or more fatalities reported per day.

 

We certainly hope that China is able to engage in effective containment measures to slow the spread of this virus down. But there’s nothing at this point that would indicate a change in our posture towards our aggressive containment measures with regard to travel in China.

 

It’s important, though, to remember we’ve been very moderated and titrated in those travel measures. They simply are based on 14 days, which is the maximum predicted incubation period. And so, an individual who has been in China for the previous 14 days who is a foreign national would not be permitted to enter the United States. And an American or permanent resident would be permitted to return to the United States, of course, but asked to home isolate during the completion of a 14 day period outside of China.

 

That is not a ban. That is a temporary restriction in line with the public health measures that we’re taking. So, we’ve tried to be very respectful towards in–towards travel. And of course, those restrictions are not based on other than American and permanent resident versus non-Americans really as a matter of focusing our resources.

 

They’re not based on the ethnicity of an individual or–or anything else because, as you mentioned, it is important that we not engage in any–that–that–that people not believe that, because of somebody’s ethnicity, they are more likely to have this disease or not. Our criteria are all based on travel in affected areas and warning people about travel in infected areas based on–based on the epidemiology and the evidence. … 

 

AZAR: … So, for instance, abroad this is spreading quite rapidly. In the United States, thanks to the president and this team’s aggressive containment efforts, this disease, as Dr. Schuchat said, is contained. We’re now two weeks with no additional US-based cases, 14 cases on February 11th, 14 cases today. That is a remarkable level of containment here in the United States. The only additional cases we have are ones we imported as part of our humanitarian repatriation efforts.

 

Then we tried to be very transparent with the American public. We have from day one said we can’t hermetically seal off the United States. I stood here at this podium, I stood at the White House press briefing when we announced our initial–initial travel restrictions, and we’ve always said we expect to see more cases. We–that–that should–we don’t want people surprised if they see more cases here in the United States. That’s an important part of transparency. People shouldn’t panic when they see new cases. They should know their government predicted we would have them and we have plans in place. …