摘译:国务卿蓬佩奥在会见新闻记者时发表的讲话

美国国务院

发言人办公室

华盛顿哥伦比亚特区(Washington, D.C.)

2019年4月4日

国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Michael R. Pompeo)在会见新闻记者时发表的讲话

迪安·艾奇逊大厅(Dean Acheson Auditorium)

国务卿蓬佩奥:诸位下午好。70年前的今天,12个勇敢的国家聚集在一起缔结了一个联盟。至今这个联盟仍然是西方安全和民主解放的基本保障 。今天,我们的29个国家坚持我们初定盟约时的使命。我们坚信可以通过遏制维持和平。我们坚信我们的条约第5款确定的共同防御。我们坚信西方民主观念必须得到捍卫——我们将坚守不渝。

我们各国继承了一个强大的联盟,因为我们的先辈们运用自己的智慧持续抗击了面临的各种挑战。现在我们应该为抗击各种挑战履行自己的职责,例如激进的伊斯兰恐怖主义、网络攻击、毫无控制的移民、中国的战略竞争等,而且仍然存在俄罗斯的侵略。

*          *          *          *

70年前,伟人迪安·艾奇逊(Dean Acheson)曾说过,北约(NATO)联盟是“一份阐明现实和历史教训的声明”。他很清楚,自由的国家如果不团结一致,就将被各个击破。今天也同样如此。

对美国而言,我们将够继续承担我们应该承担的公平份额。我们将够继续在北约发挥主导作用,与此同时我们将捍卫美国人民和盟国人民的自由。

我很高兴回答几个问题。

*          *          *          *

:……我有另外一个关于中国的问题。北约盟国并没有应美国的要求拒绝华为。你是否认为这可能对联盟未来的情报分享和军事通讯构成危险?

*          *          *          *

国务卿蓬佩奥:…… 关于在与安全有关的系统内安装中国技术涉及的危险,毫无疑问有这样的危险,因为与在这些网络内部,在这些功能内部不存在中国的系统相比较,北约或美国将无法按照同样的方式分享情报。

我们已经在美国进行了风险分析工作;现在我们已经与我们的北约伙伴和世界各地的国家分享了有关情况。他们认识到其中的问题——并非是我们提出的问题,而是很现实的问题,其中涉及与他们本国政府联系如此深厚的公司将以他们政府的马首是瞻,从而对信息管理构成了危险。我们已经明确指出,如果危险超过了美国的门槛,我们只能不再分享有关信息。另外,我们的任务是进行劝导,确定他们有所了解——每一个主权国家都需要自行做出决策,然后美国将采取自己的对策。

*          *          *          *

:…… 意大利与中国签署了一带一路协议。你认为是否会对北约的操作互通性构成威胁?

国务卿蓬佩奥:……我刚才在回答前一个问题时已经谈到,每一个国家都必须就如何对中国的债务陷阱式外交或中国以低于市场价格出售商品的问题自行做出决策。他们在交易中显然需要考虑安全因素。但是,每一个国家都需要做出自己的抉择。然后,其他每一个国家都需要进行观察,如果他们开始参与这些系统,参与相关的基础设施,参与相关的信息技术基础设施或运输基础设施,他们会面临哪些风险,并对这种威胁采取对策。

*          *          *          *

国务卿蓬佩奥:我还需要补充一点。以开放、公平、透明的方式进行竞争是一回事。美国准备与北约盟国、与中国、与任何提出商业交易的国家进行竞争—— 制造更好的捕鼠器,有更好的创意——为公平、合理、透明的交易进行竞争。然而,涉及国家安全问题的交易完全是另外一回事。当一个国家提出,向你出售的商品大大低于市场,人们就应该想一想,其中还涉及其他什么问题,为什么这个实体提出的交易好得令人难以置信。

Excerpts: Secretary Pompeo at a Press Availability

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, D.C.
April 4, 2019

REMARKS
Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo at a Press Availability

Dean Acheson Auditorium

SECRETARY POMPEO:  So good afternoon, everyone.  Seventy years ago today, 12 courageous nations came together to form an alliance that to this day remains the bedrock guarantor of Western security and democratic liberties.  Today, our 29 nations believe in our founding mission.  We believe in deterrence to keep the peace.  We believe in our common defense, as captured in Article 5 of the treaty.  We believe that Western democratic ideals are worth defending – and defend them we will.

Our nations have inherited a strong alliance because our predecessors had the wisdom to continue to adapt to the challenges at hand.  And now it’s our duty to adapt to the challenges like radical Islamic terrorism, cyber attacks, uncontrolled migration, Chinese strategic competition, and indeed, still, Russian aggression.

*             *             *             *

Seventy years ago, the great Dean Acheson said that the NATO alliance was, quote, “a statement of the facts and lessons of history,” end of quote.  He knew that if free nations do not stand together, they will fall one by one.  The same is true today.

As for the United States, we will continue to bear our fair share.  We will continue to lead within NATO, and by doing so we will defend the freedoms of the American people and the people of our allies.

I’m happy to take a few questions.

*             *             *             *

QUESTION:  … . And then I have another question about China.  NATO allies have not followed U.S. requests to cut off Huawei.  So do you think that that could become a risk for intelligence sharing and military communications in the alliance in the future?

*             *             *             *

SECRETARY POMPEO:  … . As for the risks associated with the installation of Chinese technology in systems related to security, there is undoubtedly the risk that NATO or the United States will not be able to share information in the same way it could if there were not Chinese systems inside of those networks, inside of those capabilities.

We’ve done our risk analysis in the United States; we have now shared that with our NATO partners, with countries all around the world.  They understand the concerns – not our concerns, but the factual concerns associated with companies so deeply connected to their own government who would be willing to act at the behest of their government, the risk that that presents to information management.  And we have made clear that if the risk exceeds the threshold for the United States, we simply won’t be able to share that information any longer.  And our task is to do education, make sure they understand – every sovereign nation that will make its own decision, and then the United States will make its decision.

*             *             *             *

QUESTION:  … . Italy signed BRI Initiative with China.  Do you consider that to be a threat to the interoperability of NATO?

SECRETARY POMPEO:  … . [A]s I said in response to the previous question, every country has to make its own decisions about how it wants to respond to Chinese debt-trap diplomacy or Chinese efforts to sell goods at below market.  They clearly have a security component to the transaction.  But each nation will make its own choices.  Then the task falls to every other country to observe that, see what risk it presents to them if they begin to engage in those systems, in that infrastructure, that IT infrastructure or transportation infrastructure, and respond to that threat.

*             *             *             *

SECRETARY POMPEO:  Let me just add one thing to that.  It is one thing to compete in an open, fair, transparent way.  The United States is prepared to compete with our NATO allies, with China, with any country that shows up with a commercial transaction – a better mousetrap, a better idea – and compete with fair, reasonable, transparent transactions.  It is a very different thing to engage in transactions that have a national security component to them.  When a nation shows up and offers you goods that are well below market, one ought to ask what else is at play, why it was that that entity showed up with a deal that is literally too good to be true.