摘译:特朗普总统、彭斯副总统以及冠状病毒工作组成员在新闻发布会上的讲话

白宫

新闻秘书办公室

詹姆斯·布雷迪新闻发布厅(James S. Brady Press Briefing Room)

华盛顿哥伦比亚特区

2020年2月26日

 

总统:非常感谢诸位。非常感谢你们。

*    *    *    *

我刚刚得到了防治这种正在向世界各个地区传播的病毒的有才华的人员所组成的一个了不起的团队的又一次通报。我们已经,通过一些非常好的早期决定——一开始的确受到过嘲讽的决定——我们对来自某些地区的航班关闭了我们的边境,这些地区受到冠状病毒侵袭,而且情况相当严重。我们做得非常早。很多人认为我们不应当那么早就这么做,但我们做了,而且这变成了一件非常好的事情。

*    *    *    *

我们——我们准备好进行调整,我们准备好随着疾病的传播,如果它传播,去做一切我们必须要做的事。正如你们大部分人都知道的,在我们国家的程度是非常低的,而且那些人正在好转,或者说我们认为在几乎所有病例中他们都已好转,或正在[好转]。我们总计有15例。我们从日本接回了一些——你们听说过这件事——因为他们是美国公民,而且他们正在隔离。他们也正在好起来。

但我们感到我们有义务那么做。本来有可能多达42例。而且我们发现我们是——我们感到这就是我们的一项义务。我们可以把他们留在那里,但这将是非常不好的——我认为对于美国人民非常不好。他们现在正在康复之中。

在15人中——我称他们为“最早的15人”——有8人已经回到自己的家中,待在家里直到完全康复。有1人在医院,有5人已完全康复。还有1人,我们认为情况相当不错,有待从医院回家。

因此,我们总计——但我们总计有15人,他们正在康复的过程中,而且有些人已经完全康复。

*    *    *    *

与此同时,在一些国家确有疫情爆发。意大利和一些国家正在面临一些困难。中国,你们知道有关情况,那是发源地。

我和习主席通过话。我们交谈得很好。我必须要说他正在非常努力地工作。他正在非常、非常努力地工作。如果能够相信来自中国的报告,传播已有相当幅度的下降。感染在最近两天看来有所减少。非但没有扩大,反而确有缩小。在一个事例上我们认为我们能够——它有某种可靠性,看来已缩小得不少。

关于正在商讨中的资金,他们想怎么做都可以。我的意思是,再次重申,我们将要25亿。我们正在要求拨款25亿。有些共和党人希望我们拨款40亿,有些民主党人希望我们拨款85亿。不论怎样我们都会感到满意——不论是什么。

*    *    *    *

我们对那些感染的人和有风险的人进行了隔离。我们有很多非常好的隔离设施。我们正在快速研发疫苗。他们可以告诉你们——专业人员可以告诉你们有关情况。疫苗的进展良好。在同医生们交谈后,我们认为这是我们能够相当快地研发出来的一种面向未来的疫苗,并协同我们的合作伙伴所提供的支持。我们同我们谈到的所有国家都有非常好的关系。一些数量相当大的国家。有些国家只有一例,而且很多国家没有任何问题。我们将观察事态发展。

*    *    *    *

我想是约翰斯·霍普金斯(Johns Hopkins)——这是一个极受尊重的、出色的地方——他们进行了一项全面的研究:《为应对一场流行病准备最充分和最不充分的国家》(The Countries Best and Worst Prepared for an Epidemic)。美国目前是——我们的评分第一。我们的准备程度的评分第一。这是一个不同国家的排名。

我不想妨碍你们,尤其是因为你们所做的工作如此出色。

这是一个不同国家的排名。美国是准备最充分的评分最高的国家。英国、荷兰、澳大利亚、加拿大、泰国、瑞典、丹麦、韩国、芬兰。这些——这是约翰斯·霍普金斯评出的全世界评分最高的国家的名单。

我们还在做另一件对于我有重要意义的事,因为他在很多方面都很出色,而在医疗方面也非常优秀。而且我们的确曾紧紧跟随他——很多州都是这样——当迈克担任印第安纳州(Indiana)州长时——迈克·彭斯(Mike Pence)。他们建立了非常好的医疗系统。他们那里有一个非常好的系统。这种系统使很多——很多其他州都切实效仿并改变了自己的系统。他们希望以印第安纳的系统为基础。它非常好。而且我认为——他是,的确是,在该领域极有专长。

*    *    *    *

副总统:谢谢您,总统先生。特朗普总统从本届政府成立之初就明确表示:对我们来说,最重要的工作就是确保美国人民的平安、安全、健康和福祉。

在了解到冠状病毒爆发后,总统在第一时间就采取了前所未有的步骤来防止这种疾病传播,保护美国人民。他没有过多地回顾这些步骤,但是,旅行限制的实施、对归国人员的有力隔离措施、公共卫生紧急情况的宣布、以及白宫冠状[病毒]特别工作组的成立都反映了总统在要求行政部门各机构协力应对挑战时强调的紧迫性。

2014年我担任州长时,在我们州发生了首例中东呼吸综合征(MERS),因此,在应对危险的传染病威胁方面,我非常了解总统及行政部门发挥领导作用的重要性,也非常了解州和地方政府与卫生部门通力合作的重要性。

我——总统先生,我期待着担任这一职务。我正在召集您所建立的防治冠状病毒特别工作组的所有成员机构:卫生与公众服务部(HHS)、疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)、国土安全部(DHS)、运输部和国务院。总统先生,在您的指示下,该工作组自成立以来每天都在共同商讨对策。

*    *    *    *

我们还将继续与州长以及州和地方官员联系。实际上,最近几天,白宫人员已经与来自30多个州和属地的40多位州、郡、市卫生官员会晤,讨论如何应对这种情况——应对冠状病毒的潜在威胁。我们将以新的方式与他们合作,确保他们拥有成功应对这一挑战所需要的资源。 

*    *    *    *

卫生部长阿扎尔(Azar):……

*    *    *    *

迄今为止,我们在美国境内共发现15个COVID-19病例,在过去两周内仅检测到一起新病例。从武汉返回的美国人中有3例,从滞留日本的钻石公主号返回的美国人中有42例。

总统在初期采取的果断措施,包括旅行限制,已经成功地为我们赢得了宝贵的时间。这些措施使我们得以遏制病毒的传播,处理已发现病例,并为我们在美国应对更广泛的病毒传播做好了准备。

事实证明,总统在其科学顾问的强有力支持下采取的行动是适当和明智的,并且非常适合美国的具体情况。

到目前为止,医疗工作者、急救人员、社区以及州和地方领导人努力工作,妥善应对,我们为此感谢他们。由于他们的辛勤努力和总统的领导,美国公众面临的直接风险一直很低。我们的遏制策略一直在发挥有效的作用。

同时,我们的每一位专家和领导人在过去一个多月以来不断提醒我们:风险程度有可能迅速改变,我们预期美国会有更多病例。这一看法仍然是正确的。因此,我们一直在提醒美国公众、州和地方政府以及私营部门合作伙伴,他们应该了解我们可能采取哪些更广泛的应对措施。

疾病控制与预防中心建议美国公众,特别是州和地方政府、企业和其他组织,应该重新考虑万一情况恶化如何应对。

我们鼓励美国人民了解未来可能需要采取哪些步骤来保护自己和社区的安全。现在了解这些可能采取的步骤有助于把您和社区面临的风险保持在低水平。

美国人民可以在CDC.gov/COVID19网站上查阅有用的信息。我们正在与政府和私营部门伙伴密切协作,以帮助公众提高认识,做好准备。 

*    *    *    *

舒查特博士:  … 众所周知,这是一个艰难而充满挑战的时刻,我们向该病毒的直接受害者以及为抗击病毒而忘我工作的人们表示同情和支持。

我们在美国采取的强有力的遏制策略一直在起作用,这是迄今为止发病率保持在低水平的原因。但是,我们确实认为将有更多病例出现,现在是做好准备的好时机。

如各位所知,现在是企业、医疗保健系统、大学和中小学审查其大规模传染病防范计划的最佳时机,请重新温习这些计划,保证准备工作到位。我们在CDC网站上提供了大量信息,并对如何与我们合作作了说明。

此外,这对美国公众来说也是一个很好的准备时机,你们也需要了解如何应对。

我们目前面临的冠状病毒是一种呼吸道病毒。它的传播方式与普通感冒或流行性感冒相似。它会通过咳嗽和打喷嚏传播。

每一年,我们都会告诉大家一些明智的预防流感的日常措施,这些措施在预防冠状病毒时也很重要:咳嗽时掩口、生病时待在家里、经常洗手。这些方法都是老生常谈,但一再证明很有效果,的确是预防呼吸道病毒传播的重要方法。

因此,在未来几周和几个月内,我们面临的情况具有很大的不确定性。但是,在过去15年中,我们为预防大规模流感采取了许多措施,加上我们在2009年H1N1大规模流感中积累的经验,都使我们的医疗保健系统、企业、社区和学校能够确定需要采取的防范措施。

*    *    *    *

问:您刚才谈到你们采取的筛检措施以及你们实施的有关中国的旅行限制。现在,病毒扩散出现在了意大利和韩国,你们准备将这些国家也列入名单吗?

总统:你要懂得——你知道,我是美国总统。我不是其他国家的总统。其他国家——名单上有些国家在我们现在所说的这点上的做法很令人尊重。

但是,我的确要对这个国家负责,如果这意味着要在边境作出很强力的——一种很强力的布局,不让受感染国家的人进入我国。那是——我们正在这样做,我们已经与许多国家这样做。

但我们必须专注于这个国家。我认为将我们自己强加于人是不对的。但是如果其他国家没有加以小心,或者我们认为他们的做法不正确——要知道,我们正在与世界卫生(组织)打交道,我们有了不起的人才。CDC的确到各地去帮助其他国家,给他们建议方法。但是,他们在为他们的国家努力,我们在为我们的国家努力。迄今从我们的角度来说,这进行得很好。

问:接着泽克(Zeke)的问题,您能否澄清:你们是不是在考虑限制来往于韩国、意大利和其他受影响国家的旅行?

总统:在一个适当的时候,我们也许这样做。眼下不是适当的时候。但是在一个适当的时候——而我们在检查入境的人,特别是针对这个问题,我们正在应对的这个问题。所以说,我们正在检查很多人,如果他们是来自——韩国受影响相当严重;意大利受影响相当严重。中国——中国发生的情况显而易见。

但是,再说一遍,中国的数字好像正在稳定和下降,这是非常好的消息。所以我们将拭目以待。

*    *    *    *

总统:……。

*    *    *    *

但是我们的病例比巴西糟糕得多。要知道,意大利和其他国家都远远超过一个人。巴西现在有一个人。截至现在——截至一会儿以前——巴西是有一个人。但是意大利,你知道,问题更深。

我们正在非常、非常严格地检查来自那些地方的人。到某个时候,我们也许会阻止。你知道,到某个时候,取决于出现的情况,我们也许阻止更多一些国家,就像我们必须对中国做的那样。我们希望能够尽快向中国开放。

我们——我们希望我们一直在获得的数字——我们希望我们不断得到的关于中国的数字是确实的,中国的确稳定下来,开始下降,因为最终,在某个时候,将会是这样。

*    *    *    *

问:总统先生。谢谢您,总统先生。我想谈谈中国。在疫情爆发初期,中国共产党隐瞒。这一直是——这一直是所有人的基本共识。您现在怎么能有理由相信习主席和中国的——

总统:习。

问:——共产党政权?习主席。也就是说中国的共产党政权——

总统:我费了一会儿时间才弄明白。

问:——会对这个流行疫情直言不讳,直截了当?

总统:我可以这样告诉你:我同他有交谈;我最近和他进行了交谈。他对解决这个问题如此之努力。他如此之努力。他们非常厉害,非常聪明。

这是一个很重要的——正在努力的是很重要的一组非常有才能的人。他们在召唤福奇博士。他们在召唤我们的人。我们在和他们打交道。我们在给他们某些忠告。我们其实——通过世界卫生(组织),我们也让他们到那边去。去那边的那组人里有我们的许多人。

不,他正在非常努力工作。我说起来很容易,你知道——其实我说什么没关系。我可以告诉你,他在努力——那天晚上我和他有一个长谈。他在非常、非常努力地工作。他希望让中国摆脱病毒,快快摆脱,他希望回到正常运作上来。

*    *    *    *

问:你们眼下在与中国合作吗?

总统:是的。

问:具体在哪些方面?另外,您担心——

总统:我们在与中国合作。我们刚刚完成历史上最大的贸易协定。我们完成了两个。《美墨加协定》(USMCA)加中国的协定,这是历史上最重大的。

与中国的关系是非常好的关系。我可以再次告诉你,习主席正在非常努力工作。他希望这个问题得到解决。工作得极其努力。

谢谢各位。……。

*    *    *    *

Excerpts: Rmarks by President Trump, Vice President Pence, and Members of the Coronavirus Task Force in Press Conference

THE WHITE HOUSE

Office of the Press Secretary

James S. Brady Press Briefing Room

Washington, D.C.

February 26, 2020

THE PRESIDENT:  … I have just received another briefing from a great group of talented people on the virus that is going around to various parts of the world.  We have, through some very good early decisions — decisions that were actually ridiculed at the beginning — we closed up our borders to flights coming in from certain areas, areas that were hit by the coronavirus and hit pretty hard.  And we did it very early. A lot of people thought we shouldn’t have done it that early, and we did, and it turned out to be a very good thing. 

 

We — we’re ready to adapt and we’re ready to do whatever we have to as the disease spreads, if it spreads.  As most of you know, the — the level that we’ve had in our country is very low, and those people are getting better, or we think that in almost all cases they’re better, or getting.  We have a total of 15. We took in some from Japan — you heard about that — because they’re American citizens, and they’re in quarantine. And they’re getting better too. 

But we felt we had an obligation to do that.  It could have been as many as 42. And we found that we were — it was just an obligation we felt that we had.  We could have left them, and that would have been very bad — very bad, I think — of American people. And they’re recovering. 

Of the 15 people — the “original 15,” as I call them — 8 of them have returned to their homes, to stay in their homes until fully recovered.  One is in the hospital and five have fully recovered. And one is, we think, in pretty good shape and it’s in between hospital and going home. 

So we have a total of — but we have a total of 15 people, and they’re in a process of recovering, with some already having fully recovered.

 

Now, at the same time, you do have some outbreaks in some countries.  Italy and various countries are having some difficulty. China, you know about it, where it started.

I spoke with President Xi.  We had a great talk. He’s working very hard, I have to say.  He’s working very, very hard. And if you can count on the reports coming out of China, that spread has gone down quite a bit.  The infection seems to have gone down over the last two days. As opposed to getting larger, it’s actually gotten smaller. In one instance where we think we can be — it’s somewhat reliable, it seems to have gotten quite a bit smaller.

With respect to the money that’s being negotiated, they can do whatever they want.  I mean, again, we’ll do the two and a half. We’re requesting two and a half. Some Republicans would like us to get four, and some Democrats would like us to get eight and a half.  And we’ll be satisfied whatever — whatever it is. 

 

We have in quarantine those infected and those at risk.  We have a lot of great quarantine facilities. We’re rapidly developing a vaccine, and they can speak to you — the professionals can speak to you about that.  The vaccine is coming along well. And in speaking to the doctors, we think this is something that we can develop fairly rapidly, a vaccine for the future, and coordinate with the support of our partners.  We have great relationships with all of the countries that we’re talking about. Some fairly large number of countries. Some it’s one person, and many countries have no problem whatsoever. And we’ll see what happens. 

The Johns Hopkins, I guess — is a highly respected, great place — they did a study, comprehensive: “The Countries Best and Worst Prepared for an Epidemic.”  And the United States is now — we’re rated number one. We’re rated number one for being prepared. This is a list of different countries. 

I don’t want to get in your way, especially since you do such a good job.

This is a list of the different countries.  The United States is rated number one most prepared.  United Kingdom, Netherlands, Australia, Canada, Thailand, Sweden, Denmark, South Korea, Finland.  These — this is a list of the best-rated countries in the world by Johns Hopkins.

We’re doing something else that’s important to me, because he’s been terrific in many ways, but he’s also very good on healthcare.  And we really followed him very closely — a lot of states do — when Mike was governor — Mike Pence — of Indiana. They’ve established great healthcare.  They have a great system there. It’s a system that a lot of — a lot of the other states have really looked to and changed their systems. They wanted to base it on the Indiana system.  It’s very good. And I think — and he’s, really, very expert at the field. 

THE VICE PRESIDENT:  Thank you, Mr. President.  President Trump has made clear from the first days of this administration: We have no higher priority than the safety, security, health, and wellbeing of the American people.

And from the first word of a outbreak of the coronavirus, the President took unprecedented steps to protect the American people from the spread of this disease.  He recounted those briefly, but the establishment of travel restrictions, aggressive quarantine effort of Americans that are returning, the declaration of a public health emergency, and establishing the White House Corona[virus] Task Force are all reflective of the urgency that the President has brought to a whole-of-government approach. 

As a former governor from the state where the first MERS case emerged in 2014, I know full well the importance of presidential leadership, the importance of administration leadership, and the vital role of partnerships of state and local governments and health authorities in responding to the potential threat of dangerous infectious diseases. 

And I — I look forward, Mr. President, to serving in this role.  I’m bringing together all the members of the Corona Task Force that you’ve established: HHS, CDC, DHS, the Department of Transportation, and State.  This team has been, at your direction, Mr. President, meeting every day since it was established.

 

We’ll also be continuing to reach out to governors, state and local officials.  In fact, in recent days, the White House met with over 40 state, county, and city health officials from over 30 states and territories to discuss how to respond to this — to the potential threat of the coronavirus.  We’ll be working with them in renewed ways to make sure they have the resources to be able to respond. 

We’ll also be working with members of Congress to ensure that the resources are available for this whole-of-government response, and we’ll be working very closely with Secretary Azar and his team that have done an outstanding job communicating to the public to ensure the American people have the best information on ways to protect themselves and their families, and also that the public has the most timely information on the potential threat to the American people.

SECRETARY AZAR:  … As of today, we have 15 cases of COVID-19 that have been detected in the United States, with only one new case detected in the last two weeks.  We also have three cases among Americans repatriated from Wuhan and 42 cases among Americans repatriated who had been stuck on the Diamond Princess in Japan. 

The President’s early and decisive actions, including travel restrictions, have succeeded in buying us incredibly valuable time.  This has helped us contain the spread of the virus, handle the cases that we have, and prepare for the possibility that we will need to mitigate broader spread of infections within the United States.

The President’s actions taken with the strong support of his scientific advisors have proven to be appropriate, wise, and well-calibrated to the situation.

We’re grateful for the hard work that healthcare workers, first responders, communities, and state and local leaders have put into the response so far.  Because of this hard work and the President’s leadership, the immediate risk to the American public has been and continues to be low. Our containment strategy has been working.

At the same time, what every one of our experts and leaders have been saying for more than a month now remains true: The degree of risk has the potential to change quickly, and we can expect to see more cases in the United States.  That is why we’ve been reminding the American public and our state, local, and private sector partners that they should be aware of what a broader response would look like. 

CDC has recommended that the American public, and especially state and local governments, businesses, and other organizations should refresh themselves on how they would respond in the event that the situation worsens. 

We’re encouraging Americans to learn what future steps might be necessary to keep themselves and their communities safe.  Knowing these potential steps now can help keep the risk to you and your community low. 

Americans can find useful information at CDC.gov/COVID19.  And we’re working closely with government and private sector partners to educate them about preparedness.

SCHUCHAT:  … As you know, this has been a difficult and challenging time, and our hearts go out to the individuals who have been directly affected by the virus, and to all those who have been working tirelessly in responding to it.

Our aggressive containment strategy here in the United States has been working and is responsible for the low levels of cases that we have so far.  However, we do expect more cases, and this is a good time to prepare.

As you heard, it’s the perfect time for businesses, healthcare systems, universities, and schools to look at their pandemic preparedness plans, dust them off, and make sure that they’re ready.  And we have lots more information at the CDC’s website and in partnership on how to do that.

But it’s also a really good time for the American public to prepare and for you to know what this means for you. 

The coronavirus that we’re talking about is a respiratory virus.  It’s spread in a similar way to the common cold or to influenza. It’s spread through coughs and sneezes. 

And so those everyday sensible measures that we tell people to do every year with the flu are important here: covering your cough, staying home when you’re sick, and washing your hands.  Tried and true, not very exciting measures, but really important ways that you can prevent the spread of respiratory viruses.

So this — the trajectory of what we’re looking at over the weeks and months ahead is very uncertain.  But many of the steps that we have taken over the past 15 years to prepare for pandemic influenza, and our experience going through the 2009 H1N1 pandemic of influenza, remind us of the kinds of steps that our healthcare system, our businesses, our communities, and schools may need to take.

Q    You talked a little earlier about the screening measures that you put in place and the travel restrictions you’ve put in place regarding China.  At this point, as the virus spreads in Italy and South Korea, are you planning on adding those countries to the list?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, just so you understand — you know, I’m the President of the United States.  I’m not the President of other countries. Other countries — some on the list that are very respected in what they do in terms of what we’re talking about. 

But I really want to be responsible for this country, if it means placing very strong — a very strong situation on the border so people can’t come into our country from a country that is infected.  That’s — we’re doing that, and we’ve already done it with numerous countries.

But we have to focus on this country.  I don’t think it’s right to impose our self on others.  But if others aren’t taking care or we think they’re doing it incorrectly — you know, we’re dealing with World Health, and we have terrific people.  And CDC does go around and help other countries give them recommendations as what to do. But they’re working on their countries and we’re working on our countries.  And, so far, from our standpoint, it’s really worked out very well.

Q    Just to follow up on Zeke’s question, can you clarify: Are you considering restricting travel to and from South Korea, Italy, and other countries that have been affected by this?

THE PRESIDENT:  At a right time, we may do that.  Right now, it’s not the right time.  But at a right time — and we are checking people as they come through, specifically for the problem, the problem that we’re dealing with.  So we’re checking a lot of people if they’re coming from — South Korea has been hit pretty hard; Italy has been hit pretty hard. China — it’s obvious what’s happened in China.

But again, the numbers seem to be leveling off and going down in China, which is very good news.  So we’ll see what happens. 

THE PRESIDENT:  …

But we have much worse instances than Brazil.  You know, you have Italy and you have other countries where they have much more than one person.  They have one person right now. As of now — as of just a little while ago — one person in Brazil.  But Italy is, you know, a deeper problem. 

And we’re checking people coming in very, very strongly from those.  And at some point, we may cut that off. You know, at some point, depending on what happens, we may cut certain additional countries off, like we’ve had to do with China.  And we hope we can open it up to China as soon as possible. 

And we — and we hope the numbers we’ve been getting — we hope the numbers that we’ve been getting are true on China, where it really has leveled off and started to go down, because eventually, sometime, that’s going to happen.

Q    Mr. President.  Thank you, Mr. President.  I want to get to China. At the beginning of this outbreak, the Chinese Communist Party covered it up.  That has been — that has been the general consensus of everyone. How can you now legitimately trust President Xi and the Chinese —

THE PRESIDENT:  Xi.

Q    — Communist regime?  President Xi. And the Chinese Communist regime — 

THE PRESIDENT:  Took me awhile to figure that one out.

Q    — to be forthcoming and forthright with this pandemic?

THE PRESIDENT:  Well, I can tell you this: I speak to him; I had a talk with him recently.  And he is working so hard on this problem. He is working so hard. And they’re very tough and very smart. 

And it’s a significant — it’s a significant group of very talented people that are working.  And they’re calling up Dr. Fauci. They’re calling up our people. We’re dealing with them. We’re giving them certain advice.  We actually have — through World Health, we have them over there also. And we have a lot of our people making up that group that went over there. 

No, he’s working very hard.  It would be very easy for me to say, you know — it doesn’t matter what I say, really.  I can tell you, he is working — I had a long talk with him the other night. He is working really, really hard.  He wants it to go away from China and go away fast, and he wants to get back to business as usual. 

Q    Are you working with China right now?

THE PRESIDENT:  Yes.

Q    And specifically, in what areas?  Also, do you worry about the —

THE PRESIDENT:  We’re working with China.  We just did the biggest trade deal in history.  We did two of them. Between USMCA and the China deal, it’s the biggest in history.

The relationship with China is a very good one.  And I can tell you that, again, President Xi is working really hard.  He wants this problem solved. As hard as you can work.

 Thank you all.