Flag

An official website of the United States government

发挥人工智能的潜能以改善医疗卫生服务
5 快速阅读
十二月 19, 2023

 

白宫

2023年12月14日

国家经济顾问莱尔·布雷纳德(Lael Brainard, National Economic Advisor)
国内政策顾问尼拉·坦登(Neera Tanden, Domestic Policy Advisor)
科技政策办公室主任阿拉蒂·普拉巴卡尔(Arati Prabhakar, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy)

正如拜登总统所言,人工智能(AI)既具有巨大的潜力,也存在潜在的危险。这一点在医疗卫生领域比在其他很多领域更为真切。总统已经明确表示——包括于10月30日签署一项具有里程碑意义的行政命令(Executive Order)——整个拜登-哈里斯政府都致力于以最高的紧迫性对安全地、负责任地开发及使用AI进行治理,以推动改善美国人的医疗卫生状况,同时保障他们的安全和隐私。

美国政府正在充分利用所有手段,在与医疗卫生相关的领域推动负责任的AI应用。我们无法仅凭美国政府的行动来实现总统为国家制定的宏伟愿景。

因此,令我们感到兴奋的是,为响应美国政府的领导,首要医疗服务提供商及支付方今天宣布了有关在医疗卫生领域安全地、有保障地、可信任地使用及购买AI的自愿承诺。这些自愿承诺建立在卫生与公众服务部(Department of Health and Human Services)正在展开的工作、有关AI的行政命令(AI Executive Order)以及白宫先前收到的来自15家领先AI公司做出的负责任地开发模型的基础之上。总共有28家提供商及支付方加入了今天的承诺:Allina Health、Bassett Healthcare Network、Boston Children’s Hospital、Curai Health、CVS Health、Devoted Health、Duke Health、Emory Healthcare、Endeavor Health、Fairview Health Systems、Geisinger、Hackensack Meridian、HealthFirst(佛罗里达)、Houston Methodist、John Muir Health、Keck Medicine、Main Line Health、Mass General Brigham、Medical University of South Carolina Health、Oscar、OSF HealthCare、Premera Blue Cross、Rush University System for Health、Sanford Health、Tufts Medicine、UC San Diego Health、UC Davis Health以及WellSpan Health。

今天收到的这些承诺将使该行业围绕“FAVES”原则采取相符的AI行动——即AI应该促成公平(Fair)、适当(Appropriate)、合理(Valid)、有效(Effective)和安全(Safe)的医疗结果。根据上述原则,这些公司承诺在用户收到主要由AI生成且未经人工审核或编辑的内容时告知用户。他们将遵循使用由基础模型驱动的应用程序的风险管理框架——通过该框架监控及解决应用程序可能引起的危害。与此同时,他们承诺负责任地调查及开发有价值的AI应用,包括开发促进医疗卫生公平、扩大医疗服务、使医疗负担得起、协调医疗服务以改善结果、减轻临床医生的工作负荷以及其他改善患者体验的解决方案。

我们必须保持警醒,以实现AI改善医疗卫生的承诺。医疗服务是全体美国人都享有的基本服务,而高质医疗有时可能成为生死攸关的决定因素。如果没有适当的测试、减轻风险以及人的监管,用于临床决策的使用AI的工具可能造成代价高昂甚至危险的失误。在没有适当监管的情况下,AI的诊断可能会受到性别或种族偏见的影响,特别是当AI没有受过有关代表被治疗人口的数据的培训时。此外,AI收集大量数据并从不同的数据点中推断新信息的能力可能会给患者的隐私带来风险。所有这些风险都必须予以应对。

但与此同时——只要我们能够减轻这些风险——AI便具备巨大的潜力,惠及患者、医生和医院员工。一项估计显示,AI更广泛的应用可以帮助医生和医卫工作者在全国各社区为患者提供更高质量、更富同情心的医疗服务,同时每年节省数百亿美元的医疗成本。它还可以帮助患者通过更好地了解他们的健康状况和需求,做出更具知情性的健康选择。虽然在整个医疗卫生部门普遍采用AI还有很长的路要走,但很清楚的是,AI有潜力通过多种方式对医疗结果以及医生和患者的生活产生积极影响。

请看一些实例。全世界各地的医院每年都要处理大量的医学影像——多达36亿。AI正在帮助医生更快速、更有效地分析这些影像,检查乳腺癌、肺结节和许多其他疾病的征兆,使更多人能够通过早期检测获得帮助,而这在以前是不可能做到的。今天,研发新药需要数年时间,平均成本超过20亿美元。AI能将药物靶点与新分子相匹配并治疗及治愈疾病,从而节省时间和金钱,加速研发,并转化为给予患者价格更低、质量更高的医护服务。临床医生的工作超负荷是另一个巨大的挑战。平均而言,医院工作人员在为每位患者提供服务时必须填写十几份表格。新型生成式AI应用程序可以从患者的病历中提取数据,即时填入表格,记录患者会诊的笔记,并加速及改善与患者的沟通。

为了理解这样的AI应用以及安全地使用它们所需的减轻风险的措施,拜登-哈里斯政府一直与医疗服务提供商、支付方、学术界、公民社会以及该部门的其他利益相关方进行合作。在这些互动中,各利益相关方始终强调加深对AI在医疗方面的利弊的认识和理解的必要性,并在这些对话中将医疗服务的公平性和可及性置于核心地位。

这些互动直接为本届政府的方针提供了信息。在总统于10月发布的AI行政命令中,他授权卫生与公众服务部采取一系列广泛行动,以推动安全的、有保障的、可信赖的AI。这些行动包括为负责任地实施AI制定框架、政策和潜在的监管措施。该命令还指示卫生与公众服务部启动一个新的项目,记录与AI相关的安全事故,优先考虑资助缺乏服务的社区的创新,以及努力确保在医疗领域使用AI的机构遵守禁止歧视的法律。这些行动建立在卫生与公众服务部已经展开的重要工作的基础之上——例如该部最近关于电子医疗记录中使用AI的透明度的规定,以及食品药品管理局(Food and Drug Administration)对近700件使用AI的医疗设备的授权。

今天宣布的私营部门的承诺是我们全社会共同努力推动AI造福美国人民的健康和福祉的关键一步。这28家提供商和支付方已经加紧努力,我们希望在未来几周内还会有更多机构加入这些承诺。

 

欲查看原稿内容: https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/blog/2023/12/14/delivering-on-the-promise-of-ai-to-improve-health-outcomes/ 

本译文仅供参考,只有英文原稿才可以被视为权威资料来源。

Flag

An official website of the United States government

Delivering on the Promise of AI to Improve Health Outcomes
8 MINUTE READ
December 19, 2023

 

DECEMBER 14, 2023

Lael Brainard, National Economic Advisor
Neera Tanden, Domestic Policy Advisor
Arati Prabhakar, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy

 

As President Biden has said, artificial intelligence (AI) holds tremendous promise and potential peril. In few domains is this truer than healthcare. The President has made clear, including by signing a landmark Executive Order on October 30, that the entire Biden-Harris Administration is committed to placing the highest urgency on governing the development and use of AI safely and responsibly to drive improved health outcomes for Americans while safeguarding their security and privacy.

The Administration is pulling every lever it has to advance responsible AI in health-related fields. We cannot achieve the bold vision the President has laid out for the country with U.S. government action, alone.

That’s why we are excited that in response to the Administration’s leadership, leading healthcare providers and payers have today announced voluntary commitments on the safe, secure, and trustworthy use and purchase and use of AI in healthcare. These voluntary commitments build on ongoing work by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the AI Executive Order, and earlier commitments that the White House received from 15 leading AI companies to develop models responsibly. All told, 28 providers and payers have joined today’s commitments: Allina Health, Bassett Healthcare Network, Boston Children’s Hospital, Curai Health, CVS Health, Devoted Health, Duke Health, Emory Healthcare, Endeavor Health, Fairview Health Systems, Geisinger, Hackensack Meridian, HealthFirst (Florida), Houston Methodist, John Muir Health, Keck Medicine, Main Line Health, Mass General Brigham, Medical University of South Carolina Health, Oscar, OSF HealthCare, Premera Blue Cross, Rush University System for Health, Sanford Health, Tufts Medicine, UC San Diego Health, UC Davis Health, and WellSpan Health.

The commitments received today will serve to align industry action on AI around the “FAVES” principles—that AI should lead to healthcare outcomes that are Fair, Appropriate, Valid, Effective, and Safe. Under these priciples, the companies commit to inform users whenever they receive content that is largely AI-generated and not reviewed or edited by people. They will adhere to a risk management framework for using applications powered by foundation models—one by which they will monitor and address harms that applications might cause. At the same time, they pledge to investigating and developing valuable uses of AI responsibly, including developing solutions that advance health equity, expand access to care, make care affordable, coordinate care to improve outcomes, reduce clinician burnout, and otherwise improve the experience of patients.

We must remain vigilant to realize the promise of AI for improving health outcomes.  Healthcare is an essential service for all Americans, and quality care sometimes makes the difference between life and death. Without appropriate testing, risk mitigations, and human oversight, AI-enabled tools used for clinical decisions can make errors that are costly at best—and dangerous at worst. Absent proper oversight, diagnoses by AI can be biased by gender or race, especially when AI is not trained on data representing the population it is being used treat. Additionally, AI’s ability to collect large volumes of data—and infer new information from disparate datapoints—could create privacy risks for patients. All these risks are vital to address.

Yet at the same time—so long as we can mitigate these risks—AI carries enormous potential to benefit patients, doctors, and hospital staff. By one estimate, AI’s broader adoption could help doctors and health care workers deliver higher-quality, more empathetic care to patients in communities across the country while cutting healthcare costs by hundreds of billions of dollars annually. It could also help patients make more informed health choices by better understanding their health conditions and needs. While widespread AI adoption throughout the healthcare sector is a long way off, it is clear, that AI has the potential to positively impact healthcare outcomes and the lives of doctors and patients in myriad ways.

Consider some examples. Each year, hospitals produce massive numbers of medical images—3.6 billion worldwide. AI is helping doctors analyze images more quickly and effectively, seeking signs of breast cancer, lung nodules, and many other conditions to reach more people with early detection than has previously been possible. Today, developing new drugs takes years and costs over $2 billion on average. AI is streamlining development with its ability to match drug targets with new molecules that can treat and cure diseases, saving time and money—and translating to cheaper, better care for patients. Clinician burnout is another big challenge. On average, for every patient they see, hospital staff must fill out over a dozen forms. New generative AI applications can extract data from patients’ medical records, populate it instantly into forms, record notes from patient sessions, and speed and improve patient communications.

To understand AI uses like these, and the risk-mitigation measures needed to realize them safely, the Biden-Harris Administration has engaged with healthcare providers, payers, academia, civil society, and other stakeholders throughout the sector. In these engagements, stakeholders have consistently stressed the need to deepen awareness and understanding of AI’s benefits and risks for healthcare—and to put questions of equity and accessibility of care front and center throughout these conversations.

Engagements like these have directly informed the Administration’s approach. In the President’s October AI Executive Order, he tasked  the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) with a wide range of actions to advance safe, secure, and trustworthy AI. These actions include developing frameworks, policies, and potential regulatory actions for responsible AI deployment. The Order also directs HHS to launch a new program to document AI-related safety incidents, prioritize grants supporting innovation in underserved communities, and work to ensure compliance with nondiscrimination laws by AI deployers in healthcare. Actions like these build on important work already underway at HHS—such as the agency’s recent rule on transparency for AI in electronic health records and the Food and Drug Administration’s authorization of nearly 700 AI-enabled medical devices.

The private-sector commitments announced today are a critical step in our whole-of-society effort to advance AI for the health and wellbeing of Americans. These 28 providers and payers have stepped up, and we hope more will join these commitments in the weeks ahead.

###