布兰斯塔德大使纪念“反对同性恋恐惧症、跨性别恐惧症和双性恋恐惧症国际日”

今天是反对同性恋恐惧症、跨性别恐惧症和双性恋恐惧症国际日(IDAHOTB)。为了让人们注意女同性恋、男同性恋、双性恋、变性者、跨性别者和酷儿(LGBTI)群体的成员遭受的歧视和暴力,2004年订立了IDAHOTB。5月17日被选为纪念世界卫生组织于1990年将同性恋从精神病分类中移除的决定。今天,超过130个国家通过数千项大大小小的倡议庆祝IDAHOTB,其中包括37个同性行为依然违法的国家。

5月17日也是庆祝LGBTI群体成员的非凡成就和勇气的一天,他们不断倡导和推进平等和正义,相信所有人都应得以免于恐惧、暴力和歧视地生活,不论他们是谁或他们爱谁。

我们庆祝5月17日,支持LGBTI的家庭成员、朋友、邻居、同事和同胞们得以公开平等地生活,拥有尊严和权利的能力。这一天也要检验我们能够采取什么步骤,以结束基于性别、性取向、性别认同和其他种类的歧视。

我感到振奋,每一年都有越来越多中国公民选择宽容和包容的道路,他们支持对抗针对LGBTI群体的歧视。他们像许多美国公民一样,为LGBTI个人权利倡议,他们勇敢地说出对寻求接纳和对抗歧视时遭遇的挑战。

这是重要的一天,恰恰提醒我们LGBTI的权利是人权,且在他们为所有公民抗争,以带来一个更自由、正义和兼容并蓄的世界时,我们将继续支持LGBTI群体的成员、人权卫士和他们在国内外已做出的牺牲。

Ambassador Branstad commemorates the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia

Today marks the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia, and Biphobia (IDAHOTB).  In 2004, IDAHOTB was founded in order to bring attention the discrimination and violence faced by members of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTI) community.  The date of May 17 was chosen to commemorate the World Health Organization’s decision in 1990 to declassify homosexuality as a mental disorder.  IDAHOTB is now celebrated in more than 130 countries through thousands of initiatives, big and small, including in 37 countries where same-sex acts are still illegal.  

May 17 is equally a day to celebrate the extraordinary achievements and bravery of members of the LGBTI community who have continued to advocate and advance equality and justice under the belief that all people deserve to live free from fear, violence, and discrimination, regardless of who they are or whom they love.  

We commemorate May 17 to support our LGBTI family members’, friends’, neighbors’, co-workers’, and fellow citizens’ ability to live openly and equally in dignity and rights.  It is also a day to examine the steps we can take to end discrimination toward persons on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, and other categories. 

I am encouraged that each year, a growing number of Chinese citizens are choosing a path of tolerance and inclusivity and that they support efforts to combat discrimination against the LGBTI community.  Like many citizens in the United States, they advocate for the rights of LGBTI individuals, and they are courageous in speaking out about the challenges of finding acceptance and fighting discrimination. 

This is an important day and a fitting reminder that LGBTI rights are human rights, and we will continue to support members of the LGBTI community, human rights champions, and the sacrifices they have made at home and abroad, as they struggle for a more free, just, and inclusive world for all citizens.