布兰斯塔德大使纪念“反对同性恋恐惧症、跨性别恐惧症和双性恋恐惧症国际日”

布兰斯塔德大使纪念
“反对同性恋恐惧症、跨性别恐惧症和双性恋恐惧症国际日”

5月17日,美国驻华大使馆纪念“反对同性恋恐惧症、跨性别恐惧症和双性恋恐惧症国际日”。1990年的同一天,世界卫生组织投票将同性恋从其精神病名单中移除。1973年,美国精神病学协会——世界上最大的精神病学组织——历史性地发布了一项决议,声明同性恋不是精神病。

这一天庆祝我们为我们的女同性恋、男同性恋、双性恋、变性者和跨性别者(LGBTI)家庭成员、朋友、邻居、同事和同胞们在走向平等与正义方面取得的进步。这一天也要检验我们能够采取的步骤,以结束基于性别(包括性别认同)、性取向和其他类别而针对人们的歧视,并反对基于上述针对他们的骚扰和暴力。

令我感到鼓舞的是,越来越多的中国公民选择宽容和包容的道路,并支持打击对LGBTI社群歧视的努力。像许多在美国相似的公民一样,他们倡导LGBTI个人的权利,他们勇于说出寻求接纳和反对歧视的挑战。

这是一个重要的日子,也恰当地提醒我们仍然要做的工作,以反对人们仅仅因为他们的身份就受到歧视和暴力威胁。 让我们共同努力,结束这种不容忍,为我们的朋友、家人和邻居创造一个包容的环境。

Ambassador Branstad commemorates the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia

Ambassador Branstad commemorates the International Day
Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia

On May 17, the U.S. Embassy in China marks the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia, and Biphobia.  This commemoration coincides with the day in 1990 when the World Health Organization voted to remove homosexuality from its list of mental disorders.  In 1973, the American Psychiatric Association — the largest psychiatric organization in the world – made history by issuing a resolution stating that homosexuality was not a mental illness.

This is a day to celebrate advances we have made toward equality and justice for our lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex (LGBTI) family members, friends, neighbors, co-workers, and fellow citizens.  It is also a day to examine the steps we can take to end discrimination and counter harassment and violence directed toward persons on the basis of sex (including gender identity), sexual orientation, and other categories.

I am encouraged that a growing number of Chinese citizens are choosing a path of tolerance and inclusivity and that they support efforts to combat discrimination against the LGBTI community.  Like many similar citizens in the United States, they advocate for the rights of LGBTI individuals, and they are courageous in speaking out about the challenges of finding acceptance and fighting discrimination.

This is an important day and a fitting reminder of the work remaining to counter discrimination and threats of violence against people just because of who they are.  Let’s all work together to end such intolerance and create an inclusive environment for our friends, family, and neighbors.