Flag

An official website of the United States government

加速快速减排:甲烷和非二氧化碳温室气体问题峰会
5 快速阅读
十二月 6, 2023

 

美国国务院
发言人办公室
简报

2023年12月2日

美国、中华人民共和国和阿拉伯联合酋长国今天召开峰会,加速采取行动减少甲烷和其他非二氧化碳温室气体排放,作为减少近期气候变暖并保持将全球平均气温上升限制在1.5摄氏度的目标有望实现的最快方法。

在峰会上,阿拉伯联合酋长国呼吁《巴黎协定》缔约方采取行动,提交涵盖整个经济范围并涵盖所有温室气体的2035年国家自定减排贡献,这得到了《二十国集团领导人声明》的鼓励,并呼应了美国和中华人民共和国在《阳光之乡声明》(Sunnylands Statement)中的承诺。

各国政府、慈善机构和私营部门联合宣布,自第27届联合国气候变化大会(COP27)以来为减少甲烷排放筹集了前所未有的10多亿美元的新赠款资金,这一数额是目前年度赠款资金的三倍多,并将带动数十亿美元的项目投资。各国政府还重申,他们最近同意对蒙特利尔多边基金(Montreal Multilateral Fund)进行有史以来最大规模的增资,提供 9.65 亿美元的资金,以支持基加利修正案(Kigali Amendment)的实施和能源效率。

甲烷和其他非二氧化碳温室气体及其前体的排放对当今全球变暖负有一半以上的责任,但其受到的全球气候关注远不到一半。 这些温室气体——包括甲烷、氢氟碳化物、一氧化二氮和对流层臭氧——的危害比二氧化碳强数十、数百甚至数千倍。

为了实现将升温幅度限制在1.5摄氏度的目标并降低突破近期变暖临界点的风险,世界必须对非二氧化碳温室气体采取快速行动,作为能源转型和终止森林砍伐的重要补充。虽然二氧化碳将决定我们的长期气候未来,但非二氧化碳温室气体对近期气温有着巨大的影响。加速削减甲烷和非二氧化碳气体到2050年可以避免高达0.5摄氏度的升温。非二氧化碳温室气体每年还会导致近50万人死于呼吸系统疾病,并在全球粮食生产已十分紧张之时造成全球5%-7%的农作物损失。快速减少非二氧化碳排放是一个三管齐下的解决方案,可同时推进全球气候、健康和粮食安全目标

此次峰会发布了有关解决甲烷、氢氟碳化合物和制冷问题的重大新公告:

甲烷造成当前气候变暖的30%。到2030年将甲烷排放量至少减少30%,符合《全球甲烷承诺》(Global Methane Pledge),到2050年就可避免超过0.2摄氏度的升温,这是迄今为止最快的降低全球温度的方式。

  • 与会政府、慈善机构和私营部门在峰会上联合宣布,自COP27以来为减少甲烷排放筹集了前所未有的10多亿美元的新赠款资金,来支持《甲烷融资冲刺》(Methane Finance Sprint),而这一数额是目前年度赠款资金的三倍多,并将带动数十亿美元的项目投资。
  • 美国宣布了大幅减少石油和天然气行业甲烷排放的最终标准,这将比没有该规则的情况下预计的未来甲烷排放量减少近80%,并有望在未来15年内防止相当于1.5千兆吨二氧化碳的排放。美国还计划制定规则,核查并在适当情况下修订针对新的及现有的城市固体废物填埋场的《清洁空气法》排放标准,并将于2024年发布城市固体废物填埋场排放估算的最新信息。
  • 土库曼斯坦、哈萨克斯坦、安哥拉、肯尼亚和罗马尼亚加入了《全球甲烷承诺》。
  • 哈萨克斯坦宣布与美国合作制定哈萨克斯坦国家标准,消除甲烷非紧急排放,并要求在2030年之前尽快在石油和天然气领域进行泄漏检测和维修,这是《美国-哈萨克斯坦关于加快甲烷减排以实现〈全球甲烷承诺〉的联合声明》的一部分。
  • 巴西宣布,其国家能源政策委员会(National Council of Energy Policy)到2024年年底将制定石油和天然气行业甲烷减排指南,国家石油管理局(ANP)计划到2025年年底将根据这些指南最终确定法规。
  • 作为全球甲烷承诺倡导先锋( Global Methane Pledge Champion),尼日利亚展示了如何履行解决石油、天然气和废物中甲烷排放问题的承诺,包括推进估计将捕获超过一半天然气焚烧量的项目。

更多细节和行动将与12月4日举行的《全球甲烷承诺》部长级会议(Global Methane Pledge Ministerial)同时发布。

氢氟碳化物,或称HFCs,用于制冷,其造成的升温效应是二氧化碳的数百到数千倍。采取措施减少氢氟碳化物的使用并提高制冷效率,到2050年可能减少0.1摄氏度的升温,并到2100年避免全球温度上升高达0.5摄氏度。

  • 在峰会上,阿拉伯联合酋长国宣布,拟批准针对氢氟碳化物问题的《蒙特利尔议定书》的《基加利修正案》。
  • 与会政府重申了最近达成的有关蒙特利尔多边基金进行有史以来最大规模增资的协议,提供9.65亿美元资金,以支持基加利修正案的实施和能源效率。
  • 与会政府欢迎即将推出的《全球制冷承诺》,这是COP28的一项具有里程碑意义的倡议,旨在到2030年大幅减少全球各领域与制冷相关的排放,大幅提高可持续制冷的获取。

 

欲查看原稿内容: https://www.state.gov/accelerating-fast-mitigation-summit-on-methane-and-non-co2-greenhouse-gases/

本译文仅供参考,只有英文原稿才可以被视为权威资料来源。

Flag

An official website of the United States government

Accelerating Fast Mitigation: Summit on Methane and Non-CO2 Greenhouse Gases
8 MINUTE READ
December 6, 2023

 

 

The United States, People’s Republic of China, and United Arab Emirates today convened a Summit to accelerate actions to cut methane and other non-CO2 greenhouse gases as the fastest way to reduce near-term warming and keep a goal of limiting global average temperature increase to 1.5 degrees Celsius within reach.

At the Summit, the United Arab Emirates announced a call to action for Parties to the Paris Agreement to submit 2035 nationally determined contributions that are economy-wide and cover all greenhouse gases, which is encouraged by the G20 Leaders Statement and echoes the U.S. and PRC commitments in the Sunnylands Statement.

Governments, philanthropies, and the private sector joined together to announce an unprecedented over $1 billion in new grant funding for methane reduction mobilized since COP27, which more than triples current annual grant funding and will leverage billions in project investment. Governments also reiterated their recent agreement to the largest ever replenishment of the Montreal Multilateral Fund with $965 million in funding to support Kigali Amendment implementation and energy efficiency.

Emissions of methane and other non-CO2 greenhouse gases, and their precursors, are responsible for over half of today’s warming, but they receive far less than half of global climate attention. These greenhouse gases—including methane, hydrofluorocarbons, nitrous oxide, and tropospheric ozone—are dozens, hundreds, or even thousands of times more potent than carbon dioxide.

To keep the goal of 1.5 degrees within reach and reduce the risk of breaching near-term tipping points, the world must take fast action on non-CO2 greenhouse gases, as an essential complement to the energy transition and ending deforestation. While CO2 will determine our long-term climate future, non-CO2 greenhouse gases have an outsized impact on near-term temperatures. Accelerated cuts to methane and non-CO2 gases could avoid up to 0.5 degrees of warming by 2050. Non-CO2 greenhouse gases also cause almost 500,000 deaths every year from respiratory illnesses and 5-7 percent of global crop losses at a time when global production is already strained. Rapidly reducing non-CO2 emissions is a three-in-one solution, advancing global climate, health, and food security objectives simultaneously.   

The Summit featured major new announcements to address methane, hydrofluorocarbons, and cooling:

Methane has contributed 30 percent of current warming. Reducing methane emissions by at least 30 percent by 2030 in line with the Global Methane Pledge could avoid over 0.2 degrees Celsius of warming by 2050, by far the fastest way to cool global temperatures.

  • At the Summit, governments, philanthropies, and the private sector joined together to announce an unprecedented over $1 billion in new grant funding for methane reduction mobilized since COP27 in support of the Methane Finance Sprint, which more than triples current annual grant funding and will leverage billions in project investment.
  • The United States announced final standards to sharply reduce methane emissions from the oil and gas sector, which will achieve a nearly 80 percent reduction below future methane emissions expected without the rule and is expected to prevent the equivalent of 1.5 gigatons of CO2 emissions over the next 15 years. The United States is also planning a rulemaking to review and, if appropriate, revise its Clean Air Act emission standards for new and existing municipal solid waste landfills, and in 2024 will release updates on emissions estimates for municipal solid waste landfills.
  • Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Angola, Kenya, and Romania joined the Global Methane Pledge.
  • Kazakhstan announced cooperation with the United States to develop Kazakhstan’s national standards to eliminate non-emergency venting of methane and require leak detection and repair in the oil and gas sector as soon as possible before 2030, as part of a U.S.-Kazakhstan Joint Statement on Accelerating Methane Mitigation to Achieve the Global Methane Pledge.
  • Brazil announced that its National Council of Energy Policy will establish guidelines on methane reduction in the oil and gas sector by the end of 2024 and ANP aims to finalize regulations by the end of 2025 based on these guidelines.
  • Nigeria, as a Global Methane Pledge Champion, showcased its commitment to address methane from oil and gas and waste, including advancing projects it estimates will capture over half of all gas flaring volumes.

Further details and actions will be released alongside the Global Methane Pledge Ministerial on December 4.

Hydrofluorocarbons, or HFCs, are used in cooling and cause hundreds to thousands of times more warming than CO2. Action to reduce HFCs and increase cooling efficiency could reduce 0.1 degrees of warming by 2050 and avoid up to 0.5 degree Celsius of global temperature rise by 2100.

  • At the Summit, the United Arab Emirates announced their intention to ratify the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, which tackles HFCs.
  • Governments reiterated their recent agreement to the largest ever replenishment of the Montreal Multilateral Fund with $965 million in funding to support Kigali Amendment implementation and energy efficiency.
  • Governments welcomed the imminent launch of the Global Cooling Pledge, a landmark COP28 initiative to reduce global cooling-related emissions across all sectors and to increase access to sustainable cooling substantially by 2030.

For further information, please contact climatecomms@state.gov